GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2520 TO BE ANSWERED ON 01.08.2022

SCIENCE CENTRES AND INNOVATION HUBS IN UTTAR PRADESH

†2520. SHRI RAJENDRA AGRAWAL:

Will the Minister of **CULTURE** be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the Science Cities, Science Centres and Innovation Hubs set up so far throughout the country under the Scheme for Promotion of Culture of Science aimed at promoting science culture;
- (b) the details of the funds allocated and utilized till date under this scheme; and
- (c) whether more number of such Science Cities, Science Centres and Innovation Hubs are proposed to be set up in other States including Uttar Pradesh under this scheme?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF CULTURE, TOURISM & DEVELOPMENT OF NORTH EASTERN REGION (G. KISHAN REDDY)

- (a): The Scheme for Promotion of Culture of Science (SPoCS) was approved and implemented from November, 2017. National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), an autonomous organization under the Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India, as implementing agency has set up Science Cities/Science Centres/Innovation Hubs under the Scheme for Promotion of Culture of Science (SPoCS) of Govt. of India in various states/UT in India, for promoting a culture of science, as per list attached at Annexure-A.
- (b): The details of the funds allocated and utilized till date under the said scheme is annexed at Annexure-B.
- (c): Yes, Sir. The details of Science Cities, Science Centres and Innovation Hubs that are proposed to be set up by NCSM, Kolkata is annexed at Annexure-C.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (A) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2520 FOR 01.08.2022

I. <u>List of Science Cities/Centres developed under SPoCS Scheme</u>

SI. No.	Science Centers/Museums	Year of Establishment	State/UT
1.	Bargarh Science Centre, Bargarh	January 21, 2020	Odisha
2.	Udaipur Science Centre, Tripura	Feb 28, 2021	Tripura
3.	Palampur Science Centre, Palampur, Himachal Pradesh	14 th May, 2022	Himachal Pradesh
4.	Kottayam Science Centre, Kerala (Handed over to the State Govt. for upkeep and maintenance till inauguration)	May 11, 2022	Kerala

II. List of Innovation Hubs Inaugurated so far

SI. No.	Name of the Science City/Centre/Museum where Innovation Hub is located	Date of Inauguration/ Handing Over/Present Status	State/UT
1.	PushpaGujral Science City, Kapurthala	30 th November, 2017	Punjab
2.	North Bengal Science Centre, Siliguri	16 th February, 2018	West Bengal
3.	BVB's Muktangan Exploratory Science Centre, Pune	28 th February, 2018	Maharashtra
4.	Vikram A Sarabhai Community Science Centre, Ahmedabad	27 th March, 2018	Gujarat
5.	Shillong Science Centre, Shillong	14 th June, 2019 (Handed over to the State Govt. on 4 th July, 2018)	Meghalaya
6.	Nagaland Science Centre, Dimapur	28 th September, 2018 (Handed over to the State Govt. on 10 th July, 2018)	Nagaland
7.	Regional Science Centre, Bhubaneswar	11 th July, 2018	Odisha
8.	Sikkim Science Centre, Gangtok	20 th November, 2020 (Handed over to the State Govt. on 2 nd August, 2018)	Sikkim

SI. No.	Name of the Science City/Centre/Museum where Innovation Hub is located	Date of Inauguration/ Handing Over/Present Status	State/UT
9.	Sukanta Academy, Agartala	9 th October, 2021 (Handed over to the State Govt. on 7 th August, 2018)	Tripura
10.	Mizoram Science Centre, Aizawl	11 th September, 2018 (Handed over to the State Govt. on 23 rd August, 2018)	Mizoram
11.	District Science Centre, Dharampur	26 th October, 2018	Gujarat
12.	Arunachal Pradesh Science Centre, Itanagar	8 th December, 2018 (Handed over to the State Govt. on 28 th November, 2018)	Arunachal Pradesh
13.	Digha Science Centre & National Science Camp, Digha	26 th February, 2019	West Bengal
14.	Manipur Science Centre, Imphal	16 th March, 2020 (Handed over to the State Govt. on 25 th March, 2019)	Manipur
15.	Goa Science Centre, Panaji	1 st July, 2019	Goa
16.	District Science Centre, Purulia	17 th December, 2019	West Bengal
17.	Regional Science Centre, Coimbatore	28 th October, 2021 (Handed over to the State Govt. on 4 th March, 2021)	Tamilnadu
18.	Anna Science Centre, Trichi	28 th October, 2021	Tamilnadu
19.	Solapur Science Centre, Solapur	18 th February, 2022	Maharashtra
20.	Sub-Regional Science Centre, Palampur	Inaugurated on 14 th May, 2022	Himachal Pradesh
21.	Dr. Abdul Kalam Science Centre & Planetarium, Puducherry	Inaugurated on 18 th May, 2022	Puducherry
22.	Jorhat Science Centre & Planetarium, Jorhat	Ready for inauguration.	Assam

Annexure-'B'

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (B) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2520 FOR 01.08.2022

Fund received and utilized for projects under SPoCS

(Figures in lakh)

SI. No.	Details	Fund received till date from MoC	Fund utilised till date from the share of MoC
1.	Ongoing Science Centres/ Modernization of Science Centres.	17451.80	14639.96
2.	Science Centres completed and after implementation of SPoCS in Nov, 2017 handed over to respective State Governments	1488.09	1488.06
	Total (1+2)	18939.89	16128.02

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (C) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2520 FOR 01.08.2022

Sr. No.	Name of the Science Centre/City	State/UT
1.	Gaya Science Centre	Bihar
2.	Kokrajhar Science Centre	Assam
3.	Almora Science Centre	Uttarakhand
4.	Udaipur Science Centre	Rajasthan
5.	Rajahmundry Science Centre	Andhra Pradesh
6.	Ambala Science Centre	Haryana
7.	Science City, Guwahati	Assam
8.	Science City, Dehradun	Uttarakhand
9.	Ujjain Science Centre	Madhya Pradesh
10.	Srinagar Science Centre	J & K
11.	Jabalpur Science Centre	Madhya Pradesh
12.	Kanyakumari Science Centre	Tamil Nadu
13.	Ajmer Science Centre	Rajasthan
14.	Bikaner Science Centre	Rajasthan
15.	APJ Abdul Kalam Science City *	Patna

I. <u>Upcoming Science Centres/Cities under SPoCS Scheme</u>

II. Upcoming Innovation Hubs under SPoCS Scheme

SI. No.	Name of the Science City/Centre/Museum where Innovation Hub is located	State/Union Territory
1.	Gaya Science Centre, Gaya	Bihar
2.	Pilikula Regional Science Centre, Mangaluru	Karnataka
3.	Regional Science Centre, Chalakkudy	Kerala
4.	Regional Science Centre, Jaipur	Rajasthan
5.	Sub-Regional Science Centre, Jodhpur	Rajasthan
6.	Dharwad Regional Science Centre, Dharwad	Karnataka
7.	Sub-Regional Science Centre, Udaipur, Rajasthan	Rajasthan
8.	Rajahmundry Science Centre (Cat-II)	Andhra Pradesh
9.	Almora Science Centre	Uttarakhand
10	Science Centre, Port Blair	A &N Islands
11.	Warangal Science Centre	Telangana
12.	Regional Science Centre, Ranchi #	Jharkhand
13.	Science Centre (Category-II), Srinagar	Jammu & Kashmir
14.	Science Centre, Jabalpur #	Madhya Pradesh
15.	Bargarh Science Centre #	Odisha

[#] Subject to the availability of the clearance/approval from the respective State/UT

^{*} project to be implemented by the Govt. of Bihar.
