GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 243

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 19TH JULY, 2022/ ASHADHA 28, 1944 (SAKA)

POLICE COMPLAINT AUTHORITIES

243. SHRI ASADUDDIN OWAISI:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of States and Union Territories who have so far constituted Police Complaint Authorities on redressal mechanism to inquire into the complaints of police misconduct;
- (b) whether these authorities are manned by senior police officers and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether there has been a demand to man these authorities by other than police officers and if so, the details thereof and the name of States which have taken steps in this regard;
- (d) whether the Government has any proposal to ask the State Governments for appointment of retired High Court judges or senior bureaucrats to man these authorities including women representation; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and steps taken or being taken by Government in consultation with States in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI NITYANAND RAI)

(a) to (e): "Police" is a State subject falling in List-II (State List) of the Seventh Schedule of the Constitution of India. It is primarily the responsibility of the State Governments/UT Administrations to make the police force efficient and capable and its functioning more effective and

transparent. Police Forces of the States work within the existing legal and institutional framework in the matter. The Supreme Court in its judgement in the matter of Writ Petition (Civil) 310 of 1996 titled Prakash Singh and Ors Vs Union of India and Ors directed to constitute Police Complaints Authority. "Police" being State subject, the aforesaid judgement was forwarded to State Governments/UT Administrations for its implementation.

As per available information, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep and Puducherry have constituted the Police Complaints Authorities. Bihar has constituted the District Accountability Authority for each District.
