GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

MINISTRY OF JAL SHAKTI.

DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT & GANGA REJUVENATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2040

ANSWERED ON 28.07.2022

POLICY FOR FLOOD CONTROL

2040 SHRI PASHUPATI NATH SINGH

SHRI JANARDAN SINGH SIGRIWAL

Will the Minister of JAL SHAKTI be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has chalked out any policy for flood control and management in the country particularly in Bihar;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the details of funds released and utilized to overcome the problem of flood;
- (d) wheter the Government has any proposal for financial and logistic assistance to flood prone States including Bihar; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR JAL SHAKTI (SHRI BISHWESWAR TUDU)

(a) to (c) Flood management including erosion control falls within the purview of the States. Flood management and anti-erosion schemes are formulated and implemented by concerned State Governments as per their priority. The Union Government supplements the efforts of the States by providing technical guidance and also promotional financial assistance for management of floods in critical areas.

Flood protection and flood management measures are broadly classified as under-

- (i) Structural Measures The structural measures for flood control which bring relief to the flood prone areas by reducing flood flows and thereby reducing the flood levels.
- (ii) Non-Structural Measures- Facilitating timely evacuation of the people and shifting of their movable property to safer grounds by having advance warning of incoming flood through setting up a flood forecasting system. Discouraging creation of valuable assets/settlement of the people in the areas subject to frequent flooding i.e. enforcing flood plain zoning regulation.

Integrated flood approach aims at adopting judicious mix of structural and non-structural measures to provide a reasonable degree of protection against flood damages at economic cost.

To strengthen the structural measures of flood management, Ministry had implemented Flood Management Programme (FMP) during XI & XII Plan for providing Central Assistance to States for works related to flood control, anti-erosion, drainage development, anti-sea erosion, etc. which subsequently continued as a component of "Flood Management and Border Areas Programme" (FMBAP) for the period from 2017-18 to 2020-21 and further extended up to September 2022 with limited outlay. So far Central Assistance amounting to Rs. 924.41 Crores has been released to State of Bihar under this Programme since inception. The 42 projects completed under this Programme in the State of Bihar have given reasonable protection to an area of around 28.67 Lakh hectares and protected a population of about 223.46 Lakh. State Government of Bihar has informed that embankments of length 3800.41 Km have been constructed on different Rivers in Bihar for flood protection. State Government has executed 318 & 332 numbers of anti erosion/flood protection works before the floods of year 2021 and 2022 respectively in the State of Bihar.

For Non structural measures, Central Water Commission (CWC) is the nodal Organisation entrusted with the task of flood forecasting & early flood warnings in the country. Presently, CWC issues flood forecasts for 332 forecasting stations (199 river level forecast stations & 133 dam/ barrage inflow forecast stations). These stations cover 20 major river basins in 23 States & 2 Union Territories. In the State of Bihar, CWC has 43 flood forecasting (FF) stations (40 level forecasting stations and 3 inflow forecasting stations) and 121 gauge stations. The details of flood prone areas along main rivers and flood forecasting stations of CWC in Bihar are at **Annexure**. In order to provide more lead time to the local authorities to plan evacuation of people & take other remedial measures, Central Water Commission (CWC) has developed basin wise flood forecasting model based on rainfall-runoff mathematical modelling for 5 days advance flood forecast advisory at identified flood forecasting and inflow forecasting stations.

(d) & (e) The primary responsibility of disaster management rests with the State Government concerned. The Central Government supplements the efforts of the State Government and provides requisite logistics and financial support. For providing relief in case of 12 notified natural disasters including floods, State Disaster Response Fund (SDRF) is placed at the disposal of the State Government. Additional financial assistance is extended from National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF) as per established procedure in case of disaster of severe in nature. Under the extant guidelines of SDRF and NDRF, relief is provided to the affected people for the damages caused due to notified natural calamities and not for compensation of loss suffered/claimed.

ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PART (a) TO (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2040 TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 28.07.2022 REGARDING "POLICY FOR FLOOD CONTROL"

Details of Flood Forecasting (FF) stations in State of Bihar

Sl. No.	River	Flood prone districts	No. of FF Stations
1.	Ganga	Buxar, Patna, Vaishali,	Buxar, Patna Dighaghat, Patna Gandhighat,
		Munger, Begusarai,	Hathidah, Munger, Bhagalpur, Kahalgaon
		Khagaria, Bhagalpur,	(7 stations)
		Katihar	
2.	Gandak	Paschim Champaran, Gopalganj,	Gandak Barrage(Inflow)
		PurbiChamparan, Chhapra	
		(Saran), Muzaffarpur, Vaishali	Chatia, Rewaghat, Hazipur, Dumariaghat (4
			stations)
			(Total 5 stations)
3.	Burhi	Purbi Champaran, Muzaffarpur	Lalbegiaghat, Sikandarpur (Muzaffarpur),
	Gandak	Samastipur, Khagaria, Begusarai	Ahirwalia, Samastipur, Rosera, Khagaria
			(6 stations)
4	Bagmati	Muzaffarpur, Sitamarhi,	Benibad, Hayaghat, Dheng Bridge,
		Darbhanga, Samastipur	Runisaidpur(4 stations)
5	Adhwara	Sitamarhi, Darbhanga,	Sonbarsa, Kamtaul, Ekmighat
		Madhubani	(3 stations)
6	Kamlabalan	Madhubani, Darbhanga	Jainagar, Jhanjharpur(2 stations)
7	Kosi	Supaul, Khagaria, Katihar,	Basua, Baltara, Kursela (3 stations)
		Bhagalpur	Kosi Barrage (Inflow)
			(Total 4 stations)
8	Mahananda	Kishanganj, Purnia, Katihar	Dhengraghat, Jhawa, Taibpur
			(3 stations)
9	Ghaghra	Siwan, Saran(Chhapra)	Darauli, Gangpur Siswan, Chhapara
			(3 stations)
10	Sone	Rohtas, Bhojpur, Patna	Indrapuri, Koelwar, Maner
			(3 stations)
			Indrapuri Barrage(Inflow)
			(Total 4 stations)
11	Punpun	Patna	Sripalpur(1 station)
12	Parwan	Araria	Araria(1 station)
Total 43 stations (40 level +3 inflow)			