GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

Lok Sabha

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.: 1946 (TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 28th July 2022)

NEW AIRPORTS

1946. SHRI PRADEEP KUMAR CHAUDHARY Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION

be pleased to state:-

- (a) the number of new airports proposed to be developed by the Government at present;
- (b) the number of airports sanctioned/proposed to be sanctioned during the financial year 2022-2023;
- (c) whether the proposed civil airports at Sarsawa in Saharanpur in Uttar Pradesh are also sanctioned for construction during financial year 2022-23; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

Minister of State in the Ministry of CIVIL AVIATION (GEN. (DR) V. K. SINGH (RETD))

(a): Ministry of Civil Aviation has accorded 'in-principle' approval for setting up of 21 Greenfield Airports across the country namely, Mopa in Goa, Navi Mumbai, Shirdi and Sindhudurg in Maharashtra, Kalaburagi, Vijayapura, Hassan and Shivamogga in Karnataka, Dabra (Gwalior) in Madhya Pradesh, Kushinagar and Noida (Jewar) in Uttar Pradesh, Dholera and Hirasar (Rajkot) in Gujarat, Karaikal in Puducherry, Dagadarthi (Nellore), Bhogapuram and Orvakal (Kurnool) in Andhra Pradesh, Durgapur in West Bengal, Pakyong in Sikkim, Kannur in Kerala and Hollongi (Itanagar) in Arunachal Pradesh. So far, eight Greenfield airports namely Durgapur, Shirdi, Sindhudurg, Pakyong, Kannur, Kalaburagi, Orvakal and Kushinagar have been operationalized.;;

Besides, Ministry of Civil Aviation has also launched Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS) - UDAN (Ude Desh ka Aam Naagrik) in October, 2016 to stimulate regional air connectivity and making air travel affordable to the masses. The expansion/development of airports under the scheme is 'demand driven', depending upon firm commitment from airline operators as well as from the State Government for providing various concessions.

;

Up till now, 156 RCS airports including 14 water aerodromes & 36 Helipads have been identified for operation of RCS flights therefrom. As on date, 68 airports across the country have been revived/operationalized and these 68 airports also include 7 Greenfield Airports, 2 Water Aerodromes & 8 Heliports under RCS-UDAN scheme. The list of 68 airports State-wise is at Annexure.;

(b): In Financial Year 2022-23, Government of India has granted 'Site Clearance' to the State Government of Himachal Pradesh for development of a new Greenfield airport at Nagchala, Mandi in Himachal Pradesh.;

;

Further, 35 airports/helipads/water aerodromes are targeted for development during FY 2022-23 under RCS-UDAN.

;

(c) & (d): An amount of Rs. 80 crore has been sanctioned for development of Sarsawa airport in Saharanpur.

Annexure

Statement referred to in reply to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1946 for 28.07.2022 regarding "New Airports"

List of 68 RCS Airports operationalized
(Including 7 Greenfield Airports, 8 Heliports & 2 Water Aerodromes)

S No.	State	Airport	Date of Operationalisation
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Kadapa (Underserved) (Round-	
		1)	27-April-2017
2.		Kurnool (Round-3)	28-March-2021
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	Pasighat (Round -2)	24-May-2021
4.		Tezu (Round -2)	19-August-2021
5.	Assam	Jorhat (Underserved) (Round-2)	1-Aug-2018
6.		Lilabari (Underserved) (Round-2)	15-Jan-2019
7.		Tezpur (Underserved) (Round-2)	26-April-2018
8.		Rupsi (Round-2)	08-05-2021
9.	Bihar	Darbhanga (Round-2)	08-Nov-2020
10.	Chhattisgarh	Jagdalpur (Round-1)	14-June-2018
11.		Bilaspur (Round-1)	1-March-2021
12.	Daman & Diu	Diu (Underserved) (Round-1)	24-Feb-2018
13.	Gujarat	Bhavnagar (Underserved) (Round-1)	1-May-2018
14.		Jamnagar (Underserved) (Round-1)	17-Feb-2018
15.		Kandla (Round-1)	1-July-2017
16.		Mundra (Round-1)	17-Feb-2018
17.		Porbandar (Underserved) (Round-1)	10-July-2017
18.	19.	Statue of Unity (W) (Round-3)	31-Oct-2020
20.	21.	Sabarmati River Front (W) (Round-3)	31-Oct-2020
22.		Keshod (Round-2)	16-April-2022
23.	Haryana	Hissar (Round-2)	14-Jan-2021
24.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla (Round-1)	27-April-2017
25.		Kullu (Underserved) (Round-3)	13-May-2019
26.		Mandi(Heliport) (Round-2)	09-Dec-2021
27.		Rampur Hut (Heliport) (Round-	14-Dec-2021

S No.	State	Airport	Date of Operationalisation
110.		2)	Operationalisation
28.	Jharkhand	Deoghar (Unserved) (Round 4.1)	12-Jul-2022
29.	Karnataka	Belgaum (Underserved) (Round-3)	1-May-2019
30.		Hubli (Underserved) (Round-2)	14-May-2018
31.		Mysore (Round-1)	2-Sep-2017
32.		Vidyanagar (Round-1)	21-Sep-2017
33.		Kalaburgi (Gulbarga) (Round-3)	22-Nov-2019
34.		Bidar (Round-1)	07-Feb-2020
35.	Kerala	Kannur (Round-2)	25-Jan-2019
36.	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior (Underserved) (Round- 1)	31-May-2017
37.	Maharashtra	Jalgaon (Round-1)	23-Dec-2017
38.		Kolhapur (Round-1)	8-April-2018
39.		Nanded (Round-1)	27-April-2017
40.		Ozar (Nasik) (Round-1)	23-Dec-2017
41.		Sindhudurg (Round-3)	09-Oct-2021
42.		Gondia (Round-4)	13-March-2022
43.	Meghalaya	Shillong (Underserved) (Round-1)	26-April-2018
44.	Nagaland	Dimapur (Underserved) (Round-3)	07-Dec-2019
45.	Odisha	Jharsuguda (Round-1)	22-Sep-2018
46.	Pondicherry (UT)	Pondicherry (Underserved) (Round-1)	16-Aug-2017
47.	Punjab	Adampur (Round-1)	1-May-2018
48.		Bhatinda (Round-1)	27-April-2017
49.		Ludhiana (Round-1)	2-Sep-2017
50.		Pathankot (Round-1)	5-April-2018
51.	Rajasthan	Bikaner (Round-1)	26-Sep-2017
52.		Jaisalmer (Round-1)	29-Oct-2017
53.		Kishangarh (Round-2)	8-Oct-2018
54.	Sikkim	Pakyong (Round-2)	4-Oct-2018
55.	Tamil Nadu	Salem (Round -1)	25-Mar-2018
56.	Uttar Pradesh	Agra (Underserved) (Round-1)	8-Dec-2017
57.		Allahabad (Underserved) (Round-2)	14-June-2018
58.		Kanpur(Chakeri) (Round-1)	3-July-2018
59.		Hindon (Round-2)	11-Oct-2019
60.		Bareilly (Round-2)	08-March-2021

S	State	Airport	Date of
No.			Operationalisation
61.		Kushinagar (Round-3)	26-Nov-2021
62.	Uttarakhand	Pantnagar (Underserved) (Round-1)	4-Jan-2019
63.		Pithoragarh (Round-2)	17-Jan-2019
64.		Sahastradhara - Heliport (Round-2)	08-Feb-2020
65.		Chinyalisaur – Heliport (Round-2)	08-Feb-2020
66.		Gaucher – Heliport (Round-2)	08-Feb-2020
67.		New Tehri – Heliport (Round-2)	29-July-2020
68.		Srinagar – Heliport (Round-2)	29-July-2020
69.		Haldwani – Heliport (Round-2)	08-Oct-2021
70.	West Bengal	Durgapur(Underserved) (Round-1)	25-June-2019

W- Water Aerodrome
