GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1831 TO BE ANSWERED ON 27.07.2022

WI-FI FACILITY IN STATIONS

1831.SHRI FEROZE VARUN GANDHI:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of railway stations that have been provided with Wi-Fi facility till date;
- (b) the details of the mode of operation of these Wi-Fi's in stations and the number which have been installed under Private Public Partnership(PPP);
- (c) the total number of stations selected for installation of Wi-Fi along with the States in which these stations fall into; and
- (d) the criteria on which these stations were selected?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

- (a) 6102 Railway Stations have been provided with Wi-Fi facility till date.
- (b) Day to day Operations of all these Wi-Fi Facilities are managed by RailTel Corporation of India Ltd. (Central Public Sector Undertaking under Ministry of Railways).

No Wi-Fi has been provided under Private Public Partnership (PPP). However, Wi-Fi has been provided at 416 railway stations in partnership with M/s Google and at 4412 stations as part of charity by M/s Tata Trusts.

(c) & (d) It has been decided to provide Wi-Fi at all stations except Halt depending upon the availability of Infrastructure like Optical Fiber Cable & other resources. So far 6102 stations have been provided with Wi-Fi facility. State-wise list is appended.

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) AND (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1831 BY SHRI FEROZE VARUN GANDHI TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 27.07.2022 REGARDING WI-FI FACILITY IN STATIONS

S.N.	State Name	No. of stations where Wi-Fi got installed under PPP		
1	Andhra Pradesh	508		
2	Arunachal Pradesh	3		
3	Assam	222		
4	Bihar	397		
5	Chhattisgarh	119		
6	Delhi	26		
7	Goa	19		
8	Gujarat	334		
9	Haryana	146		
10	Himachal Pradesh	24		
11	Jammu & Kashmir	28		
12	Jharkhand	215		
13	Karnataka	335		
14	Kerala	119		
15	Madhya Pradesh	415		
16	Maharashtra	550		
17	Meghalaya	1		
18	Mizoram	1		
19	Nagaland	3		
20	Odisha	234		
21	Punjab	151		
22	Rajasthan	462		
23	Tamil Nadu	416		
24	Telangana	47		
25	Tripura	18		
26	UT Chandigarh	1		
27	UT Puducherry	3		
28	Uttar Pradesh	768		
29	Uttarakhand	30		
30	West Bengal	507		
	Total	6102		
