# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AYUSH

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO - 1013 TO BE ANSWERED ON 22.07.2022

#### AWARD TO PROMOTE YOGA

#### **1013. SHRI ANIL FIROJIYA:**

Will the Minister of **AYUSH** be pleased to state:

- a. whether any scheme has been formulated to give award in the field of yoga for its promotion in the country;
- b. if so, the details thereof;
- c. whether the Government proposes to give any prize money along with the award; and
- d. if so, the details thereof along with the number of people who have received such award State-wise?

# ANSWER THE MINISTER OF AYUSH (SHRI SARBANANDA SONOWAL)

(a) & (b): Yes. On June 21<sup>st</sup>, 2016 i.e. on the occasion of the Second International Day of Yoga (IDY), the Hon'ble Prime Minister announced Prime Minister's Award for Outstanding Contribution towards the Development and Promotion of Yoga at National & International Levels. The awards are given in the following four categories:

- i. National Individual
- ii. National Organisation
- iii. International Individual
- iv. International Organisation

In 2017, 2018 and 2019 Prime Minister's Yoga awards were given under various categories. In the year 2020, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, it was decided not to initiate the process of the said award. In 2021, Ministry has invited the applications digitally and the winners of the awards under various categories were announced on the eve of the 8<sup>th</sup> International Day of Yoga.

(c) & (d): Yes. The winners are felicitated by means of a Trophy, Certificate and a Cash Award of  $\gtrless$  25 Lakh each. The details of the winners of the awards year-wise are as under:

Year	Name	Category
2017	Ramamani Iyengar Memorial Yoga Institute,	National Organisation
	Pune	
2018	Sh. Vishwas Vasant Mandlik, Pune	National Individual
2018	The Yoga Institute, Mumbai	National Organisation
2019	Ms. Antonietta Rozzi, Italy	International Individual
2019	Japan Yoga Niketan, Japan	International Organisation
2019	Bihar School of Yoga, Munger, Bihar	National Organisation
2019	Swami Rajarshi Muni, Gujarat	National Individual
2021	Shri Marcus Vinicius Rojo Rodrigues, Sao	International Individual
	Paulo, Brazil	
2021	British Wheel of Yoga, United Kingdom	International Organisation
2021	Shri Bhikkhu Sanghasena, Leh-Ladakh	National Individual
2021	The Divine Life Society, Rishikesh,	National Organisation
	Uttarakhand	

\*\*\*\*