GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 603 TO BE ANSWERED ON 4TH FEBRUARY, 2022

ESTABLISHMENT OF MEDICAL COLLEGES IN ASPIRATIONAL DISTRICTS

603. SHRI MAHESH SAHOO:

Will the Minister of HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government had announced establishment of medical colleges in all aspirational districts across the country;
- (b) if so, the number of aspirational districts where medical colleges have been established as per the announcement so far and the districts where these are yet to be established, State/UT-wise and district-wise;
- (c) the reasons for delay in establishing medical college in Dhenkanal which is one of the aspirational district in Odisha;
- (d) the time by which the same is likely to be established; and
- (e) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

(a) & (b) The Ministry of Health & Family Welfare administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) for 'Establishment of new Medical Colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals' with preference to underserved areas and aspirational districts, where there is no existing Government or private medical college. Under the Scheme, 157 new medical colleges have been approved in three phases and 70 are already functional. Out of 157 sites, 40 are in aspirational districts. The details are at Annexure.

(c) to (e) Under Phase-III of the above Centrally Sponsored Scheme, all States/UTs were requested to submit proposals along with Detailed Project Report (DPR). No proposal was received from the State Government of Odisha for establishment of a medical college at Dhenkanal district.

Details of medical colleges approved in aspirational districts under Centrally Sponsored Scheme for 'Establishment of new Medical Colleges attached with existing District/Referral Hospitals'

S. No.	Name of the State	Name of the District
1	Andhra Pradesh	Paderu (Vishakhapatnam)
2	Assam	Dhubri
3	Bihar	Purnia, Sitamarhi, Jamui
4	Chhattisgarh	Rajnandgaon, Korba, Mahasamund, Kanker
5	Gujarat	Narmada
6	Himachal Pradesh	Chamba
7	Jammu & Kashmir	Baramulla, Handwara (Distt. Kupwara)
8	Jharkhand	Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj), Chaibasa (Singhbhum)
9	Karnataka	Yadgiri
10	Madhya Pradesh	Khandwa, Vidisha, Rajgarh, Singrauli
11	Maharashtra	Nandurbar
12	Odisha	Bolangir, Koraput, Kalahandi
13	Rajasthan	Dholpur, Baran, Jaisalmer, Karauli' Sirohi
14	Uttarakhand	Haridwar Rudrapur, (Distt. Udham Singh Nagar)
15	Uttar Pradesh	Bahraich, Fatehpur, Siddharthnagar (Domariyaganj), Chandauli, Sonbhadra
16	Tamil Nadu	Ramanathapuram, Virudhunagar