# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

## LOK SABHA

### **UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5675**

TO BE ANSWERED ON 06.04.2022

#### VISVESVARAYA SCHEME

#### 5675. SHRI BASANTA KUMAR PANDA:

Will the Minister of Electronics and Information Technology be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the objectives of the Visvesvaraya Scheme;
- (b) the details of the amount allocated by the Government for the aforesaid scheme; and
- (c) the State-wise details of number of beneficiaries under the aforesaid scheme including the district-wise beneficiaries in the State of Odisha?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE FOR ELECTRONICS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI RAJEEV CHANDRASEKHAR)

(a): Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme was approved by the Government in March, 2014 to enhance the number of PhDs in Electronics System Design and Manufacturing (ESDM) and IT/IT Enabled Services (IT/ITES) sectors. The scheme has the objective to promote high-end research in ICT and produce doctoral as well as post-doctoral researchers in these areas.

Under Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme (Phase-I), a total of 1,090 Full-Time and 333 Part-Time PhD scholars have been supported by the Government across 97 institutions in 25 States and 4 Union Territories in the country.

Government has approved Phase-II of Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme in September, 2021 with an objective to support 1,000 Full-Time PhD scholars, 150 Part-Time PhD scholars, 50 Young Faculty Research Fellowships and 225 Post-Doctoral Fellowships for a duration of 9 years.

- (b): Government allocated Rs. 466.00 crore for Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme (Phase-I) for a duration of 9 years (2014-2023). Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme (Phase-II) was approved in September, 2021 with a total budget outlay of Rs. 481.93 crore for a duration of 9 years.
- (c): Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme supported 1,423 PhD scholars across the country. In the State of Odisha, total 11 PhD scholars have been supported under the scheme. The State-wise details of number of beneficiaries under the scheme, including the district-wise beneficiaries in the State of Odisha, is annexed.

\*\*\*\*\*

Number of beneficiaries under the Visvesvaraya PhD Scheme		
Sr. No.	State/Union Territory	Total Candidates Supported
1.	Andhra Pradesh	30
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	19
3.	Assam	68
4.	Bihar	60
5.	Chandigarh	16
6.	Delhi	207
7.	Goa	15
8.	Gujarat	39
9.	Haryana	08
10.	Himachal Pradesh	28
11.	Jammu and Kashmir	06
12.	Jharkhand	05
13.	Karnataka	97
14.	Kerala	09
15.	Madhya Pradesh	44
16.	Maharashtra	128
17.	Meghalaya	13
18.	Mizoram	01
19.	Odisha (Bhubaneswar)	01
	Odisha (Rourkela)	10
20.	Puducherry	10
21.	Punjab	42
22.	Rajasthan	58
23.	Sikkim	05
24.	Tamil Nadu	149
25.	Telangana	112
26.	Tripura	07
27.	Uttar Pradesh	99
28.	Uttarakhand	23
29.	West Bengal	114
	Total	1,423