LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4799

TO BE ANSWERED ON 31st March, 2022

CNG Service in Bihar

†4799. SHRI CHHEDI PASWAN:

पेट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to provide CNG service in Bihar;
- (b) if so, the time by which CNG filling stations are likely to be started at district headquarters and requisite centres of Bihar including Rohtas and Kaimur districts; and
- (c) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

पेट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्रालय में राज्यमंत्री (श्रीरामेश्वरतेली)

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI RAMESWAR TELI)

(a) to (c):Establishment of CNG Stations is part of the development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) network and the same is carried out by the entities authorized by Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB). Upto the 10th CGD bidding round, 11 GAs including Rohtas and Kaimur districts, have been authorized in the state of Bihar by PNGRB. Geographical Area (GA) wise status of CNG stations commissioned in the state of Bihar is at Annexure.

Further, in order to increase coverage of CGD networks, PNGRB has issued Letter of Intent (LoI) to Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) for development of CGD network in two GAscovering Darbhanga, Madhubani, Supaul, Sitamarhi&Sheohar Districts and Gopalganj, Siwan, West Champaran& East Champaran districts in Bihar recently. Also, PNGRB has launched 11A CGD bidding round for development of CGD network, which includes one GA covering Banka district of Bihar.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4799 TO BE ANSWERED ON 31.03.2022 REGARDING CND SERVICE IN BIHAR.

Details of authorized GAs in Bihar

S.No.	Geographical Area/CGD Networks	State	Authorized CGD Entity	CNG Stations as on 31.01.2022
1	Aurangabad, Kaimur and	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation	2
	Rohtas Districts		Limited	
2	Begusarai District	Bihar	Think Gas Begusarai	5
			Private Limited	
3	Gaya and Nalanda	Bihar	Indian-Oil Adani Gas	6
	Districts		Private Limited	
4	Patna District	Bihar	GAIL (India) Limited	13
5	Araria, Purnia, Katihar	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation	0
	and Kishanganj Districts		Limited	
6	Arwal, Jehanabad,	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation	3
	Bhojpur and Buxar		Limited	
	Districts			
7	Khagaria, Saharsa and	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation	0
	Madhepura Districts		Limited	
8	Lakhisarai, Munger and	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation	0
	Bhagalpur Districts		Limited	
9	Muzaffarpur, Vaishali,	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation	4
	Saran Samastipur Districts		Limited	
10	Nawada and Koderma	Bihar &	Indian Oil Corporation	0
	Districts	Jharkhand	Limited	
11	Sheikhpura, Jamui and	Bihar &	Indian Oil Corporation	0
	DeogharDisrticts	Jharkhand	Limited	
	Total			33

Source: PNGRB