## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4540 TO BE ANSWERED ON 30.03.2022

#### **BACKWARD DISTRICTS**

## †4540. SHRI MANSUKHBHAI DHANJIBHAI VASAVA:

Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has assessed the reasons and outcome of backwardness in tribal and rural districts of the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, district and State-wise; and
- (c) the steps taken by the Government to eliminate the backwardness of the said districts?

#### **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF STATISTICS AND PROGRAMME IMPLEMENTATION; MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CORPORATE AFFAIRS

## (RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a) & (b): Yes Sir, Government has identified 112 aspirational districts (including Tribal and Rural Districts) remaining backward in the sectors like; Health & Nutrition, School Education, Agriculture & Water Resources, Financial Inclusion and Skill Development and Basic Infrastructure, list of such 112 aspirational districts is placed at **Annexure.**
- (c) Government is implementing Aspirational District Programme. The broad strategy of the Aspirational District Programme rests on the 3 Cs Convergence (between Central and State Schemes), Collaboration (between Centre, State, District, Administration, Development Partners and Citizens) and Competition (between Districts). Every month, districts are ranked on basis of progress made and this instills them with a sense of competition which results in rapid improvement. Another strategy of the programme is nomination of Joint Secretary/Additional Secretary level officials from Government of India as Central Prabhari Officers for each of the district. The role of these Prabhari Officers is to guide the district administration on basis of their long experience.

As the main strategy of the programme is based on convergence of existing schemes which have their own funding arrangement, infusion of additional fund is not envisaged. However, in order to foster competitive spirit, and for addressing the critical gaps, selected Districts are given some additional allocation on the basis of their performance every month, districts are assessed on the basis of monthly progress and the best performing District in overall terms and in each of the five sectors are identified. The first and second rankers in overall terms are awarded Rs. 10 crores and Rs. 5 crores respectively. The first ranker from each of the five sectors is awarded Rs. 3 crores each.

\*\*\*\*

**Annexure** 

State wise list of Aspirational Distrcits			
S.No.	State	District	
1	Madhya Pradesh	Chhatarpur	
2	Madhya Pradesh	Damoh	
3	Madhya Pradesh	Barwani	
4	Madhya Pradesh	Rajgarh	
5	Madhya Pradesh	Vidisha	
6	Madhya Pradesh	Guna	
7	Madhya Pradesh	Singrauli	
8	Madhya Pradesh	Khandwa	
9	Uttar Pradesh	Bahraich	
10	Uttar Pradesh	Shrawasti	
11	Uttar Pradesh	Balrampur	
12	Uttar Pradesh	Siddharthnagar	
13	Uttar Pradesh	Chandauli	
14	Uttar Pradesh	Sonebhadra	
15	Uttar Pradesh	Chitrakoot	
16	Uttar Pradesh	Fatehpur	
17	Odisha	Dhenkanal	
18	Odisha	Gajapati	
19	Odisha	Kandhamal	
20	Odisha	Balangir	
21	Odisha	Kalahandi	
22	Odisha	Rayagada	
23	Odisha	Koraput	
24	Odisha	Malkangiri	
25	Odisha	Nawarangpur	
26	Odisha	Nuapada	
27	Punjab	Moga	
28	Punjab	Firozpur	
29	Himachal Pradesh	Chamba	
30	Uttarakhand	Udham Singh Nagar	
31	Uttarakhand	Haridwar	
32	Andhra Pradesh	Vizianagaram	
33	Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam	
34	Andhra Pradesh	Y.S.R. Kadapa	
35	Haryana	Mewat	
36	Jharkhand	Garhwa	

	-	
37	Jharkhand	Chatra
38	Jharkhand	Giridih
39	Jharkhand	Godda
40	Jharkhand	Sahibganj
41	Jharkhand	Pakur
42	Jharkhand	Bokaro
43	Jharkhand	Lohardaga
44	Jharkhand	Purbi Singhbhum
45	Jharkhand	Palamu
46	Jharkhand	Latehar
47	Jharkhand	Hazaribagh
48	Jharkhand	Ramgarh
49	Jharkhand	Dumka
50	Jharkhand	Ranchi
51	Jharkhand	Khunti
52	Jharkhand	Gumla
53	Jharkhand	Simdega
54	Jharkhand	Pashchimi Singhbhum
55	Gujarat	Dahod
56	Gujarat	Narmada
57	Bihar	Sitamarhi
58	Bihar	Araria
59	Bihar	Purnia
60	Bihar	Katihar
61	Bihar	Muzaffarpur
62	Bihar	Begusarai
63	Bihar	Khagaria
64	Bihar	Banka
65	Bihar	Sheikhpura
66	Bihar	Aurangabad
67	Bihar	Gaya
68	Bihar	Nawada
69	Bihar	Jamui
70	Jammu & Kashmir	Kupwara
71	Jammu & Kashmir	Baramula
72	Kerala	Wayanad
73	Tamil Nadu	Virudhunagar
74	Tamil Nadu	Ramanathapuram

75	Telangana	Asifabad
76	Telangana	Bhopapalli
77	Telangana	Bhadadri
78	Assam	Goalpara
79	Assam	Barpeta
80	Assam	Hailakandi
81	Assam	Baksa
82	Assam	Darrang
83	Assam	Udalguri
84	Assam	Dhubri
85	Nagaland	Kiphire
86	Mizoram	Mamit
87	Sikkim	West Sikkim
88	Manipur	Chandel
89	Meghalaya	Ribhoi
90	Tripura	Dhalai
91	Arunachal Pradesh	Namsai
92	Karnataka	Raichur
93	Karnataka	Yadgir
94	Maharashtra	Nandurbar
95	Maharashtra	Washim
96	Maharashtra	Gadchiroli
97	Maharashtra	Osmanabad
98	Chhattisgarh	Korba
99	Chhattisgarh	Rajnandgaon
100	Chhattisgarh	Mahasamund
101	Chhattisgarh	Kanker
102	Chhattisgarh	Narayanpur
103	Chhattisgarh	Dantewada
104	Chhattisgarh	Bijapur
105	Chhattisgarh	Bastar
106	Chhattisgarh	Kondagaon
107	Chhattisgarh	Sukma
108	Rajasthan	Dholpur
109	Rajasthan	Karauli
110	Rajasthan	Jaisalmer
111	Rajasthan	Sirohi
112	Rajasthan	Baran