## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4153

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 29<sup>TH</sup> MARCH, 2022/ CHAITRA 8, 1944 (SAKA)

E-VISA FACILITIES

4153. SHRI GAUTAM GAMBHIR:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details and the number of countries having e-Visa facilities with India;
- (b) whether the Government is working on any proposals to set up these facilities with more countries; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof?

## **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI NITYANAND RAI)

(a) to (c): Prior to e-Visa suspension in March, 2020 due to Covid-19 pandemic, e-Visa was available to the nationals of 171 countries under five sub-categories i.e. e-Tourist visa, e-Business visa, e-Medical visa, e-Medical Attendant visa and e-Conference visa. During Covid-19 pandemic, the e-Visa facility was suspended. Subsequently, the e-Visa facility was restored to the nationals of 156 countries out of these 171 countries.

e-Visa facility is granted to nationals of various countries after taking into consideration, inter-alia, the issues of security, inbound tourism and investments, bi-lateral relations etc. Extension of this facility is an ongoing process which is done after appropriate consultations with all stakeholders.

\*\*\*\*\*