#### **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA**

## MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS

#### **LOK SABHA**

## **UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3624**

## **TO BE ANSWERED ON MARCH 24, 2022**

### **CITIES/TOWNS UNDER AMRUT**

### NO. 3624. SHRI RAMALINGAM S.:

Will the Minister of HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of cities under developed towns covered/included under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) across the country as on date, State-wise including Tamil Nadu;
- (b) whether the Government has any proposal to include Mayiladuthurai in Tamil Nadu under AMRUT which is the oldest and under-developed town for the last thirty years; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

#### ANSWER

# THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS (SHRI KAUSHAL KISHORE)

(a): A total of 500 cities across all States/ Union Territories (UTs) have been covered under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT). Number of cities covered State/UT wise under AMRUT is given at ANNEXURE - I.

(b) & (c): There is no proposal to cover Mayiladuthurai in Tamil Nadu in AMRUT scheme. However, Government has launched AMRUT 2.0 on 01 October, 2021 for the period of 05 years i.e. from the financial year 2021-22 to the financial year 2025-26. AMRUT 2.0 is designed to provide universal coverage of water supply through functional taps to all households in all the statutory towns in the country and coverage of sewerage/septage management in 500 cities covered in first phase of the AMRUT scheme. All the statutory towns in the country including Mayiladuthurai town are covered under AMRUT 2.0.

\*\*\*\*

ANNEXURE - I REFERRED TO IN THE REPLY OF PART (a) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3624 DUE FOR ANSWER ON 24 MARCH 2022 REGARDING "CITIES/TOWNS UNDER AMRUT":

# Number of cities covered State/UT wise under AMRUT

S.No.	Name of State/UT	Total
1	Andhra Pradesh	33
2	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	1
3	Arunachal Pradesh	1
4	Assam	4
5	Bihar	27
6	Chandigarh	1
7	Chhattisgarh	9
8	Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman Diu	
9	Delhi	4
10	Goa	1
11	Gujarat	31
12	Haryana	20
13	Himachal Pradesh	2
14	Jammu and Kashmir	3 2 7
15	Leh Ladakh	2
16	Jharkhand	
17	Karnataka	27
18	Kerala	9
19	Lakshadweep	1
20	Madhya Pradesh	34
21	Maharashtra	44
22	Manipur	1
23	Meghalaya	1
24	Mizoram	1
25	Nagaland	2
26	Odisha	9
27	Puducherry	3
28	Punjab	16
29	Rajasthan	29
30	Sikkim	1
31	Tamil Nadu	33
32	Telangana	12
33	Tripura	1
34	Uttar Pradesh	61
35	Uttarakhand	7
36	West Bengal	60
	Total:	500

\*\*\*\*