GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO- 2823 TO BE ANSWERED ON- 21/03/2022

COMMITTEE FOR PVTGs.

2823. SHRI A. RAJA:

Will the Minister of TRIBAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government set up a Committee for the framing of guidelines on Habitat Rights for Particularly vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTG) guaranteed under the Forest Rights Act;
- (b) if so, the details including date on which it was set up and composition of the Committee; and
- (c) whether the Committee includes representation from people belonging to PVTGs, if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TRIBAL AFFIARS (SHRI BISHWESWAR TUDU)

(a) to (c): Ministry of Tribal Affairs has constituted an Expert Committee on 21.02.2020 under the Chairpersonship of Shri Hrusikesh Panda, Former Secretary, Tribal Affairs on improvement of the recognition and vesting process of community rights under the Forest Rights Act, 2006. The Composition of the Committee is as at **Annexure1**. The committee has 2 subgroups who will focus on (i) Habitat Rights of PVTGs and (ii) Seasonal Resource access to Nomadic and Pastoralist communities. The details of members of these sub groups is given at **Annexure-I** and **Annexure-II**.

Annexure 1 to Reply to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2823 for answer on 21.3.2022 asked by Shri A Raja, Hon'ble MP regarding 'Committee for PVTGs'.

Composition of the Committee

- o Shri Hrusikesh Panda, Former Secretary, Tribal Affairs Chairman
- o Concerned Bureau Head/Director (FRA), MoTA Member
- o Mr. J. B. Tuwit, IAS (Retd.) -Member
- o Mr. Arun Uraon, IPS (Retd.) Member
- o Mr. Etwa Munda, IRS (Retd.) Member
- o Ms Madhu Sarine, Independent Researcher Member
- o Mr. Naresh Biswas, Independent Researcher Member
- o Mr. Ajay Dolke, Srujan Member
- o Dr. K. AmitabBachhan, Kerala Member
- o Mr. Ramesh Bhatti, Center for Pastoralism Member
- o Himdhara, Himachal Pradesh Member
- o Mr. Y. Giri Rao, Director, Vasundhara- Member
- o Mr. Satyam Shrivastava, Society for Rural Urban and Tribal Initiative, New Delhi Member
- o Mr. Sudhir Pal, CEO, Manthan YuvaSansthan, Jharkhand Member
- o Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Madhya Pradesh Member
- o Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Chhattisgarh Member
- o Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department Andhra Pradesh Member
- o Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Manipur Member
- o Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Himachal Pradesh Member
- o Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Karnataka Member
- o Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Arunachal Pradesh-Member
- o Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Rajasthan Member
- o Representative of Ministry of Social Justice, at the level of Joint Secretary Member
- o Representative of Ministry of Minority Affairs, at the level of Joint Secretary Member
- Representative of The Anthropological Survey of India, at the level of Joint Secretary Member
- o Representative of Department of Land Resources, at the level of Joint Secretary Member
- Representative of Department of Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, at the level of Joint Secretary – Member

Annexure-I

The composition of the sub-group constituted for framing guidelines on Habitat Rights of Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTGs) under Section 3 (1) (d) of FRA, 2006

- (a) Shri Hrusikesh Panda, Former Secretary, Tribal Affairs Chairman
- (b) Concerned Bureau Head/ Director (FRA), MoTA Member
- (c) Mr. J. B. Tuwit, IAS (Retd.) Member
- (d) Ms Madhu Sarine, Independent Researcher- Member
- (e) Mr. Naresh Biswas, Independent Researcher Member
- (f) Mr. Y. Giri Rao, Director, Vasundhara- Member
- (g) Mr. Sudhir Pal, CEO, Manthan YuvaSansthan, Jharkhand- Member
- (h) Mr. Ajay Dolke, Srujan- Member
- (i) Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Madhya Pradesh Member
- (j) Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Chhattisgarh Member
- (k) Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Andhra Pradesh Member
- (1) Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Manipur Member
- (m) Representative of The Anthropological Survey of India, at the level of Joint Secretary Member
- (n) Representative of Department of Land Resources, at the level of Joint Secretary Member
- (o) Representative of Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, at the level of Joint Secretary-Member

Annexure-II

The composition of the sub-group constituted for framing guidelines seasonal resource access rights of pastoralist or nomadic communities under Section 3 (1)(d) of FRA, 2006

- a) Shri Hrusikesh Panda, Former Secretary, Tribal Affairs Chairman
- b) Concerned Bureau Head/ Director (FRA), MoTA Member
- c) Mr. Arun Uraon, IPS (Retd.) Member
- d) Mr. Etwa Munda, IRS (Retd.) Member
- e) Dr. K. AmitabBachhan, Kerala- Member
- f) Mr. Ramesh Bhatti, Center for Pastoralism Member
- g) Himdhara, Himachal Pradesh- Member
- h) Mr. Y. Giri Rao, Director, Vasundhara- Member
- i) Mr. Satyam Shrivastava, Society for Rural Urban and Tribal Initiative, New Delhi Member
- j) Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Himachal Pradesh Member
- k) Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Karnataka Member
- 1) Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Arunachal Pradesh Member
- m) Principal Secretary of State Tribal Development Department, Rajasthan Member
- n) Representative of The Anthropological Survey of India, at the level of Joint Secretary Member
- 0) Representative of Ministry of Social Justice, at the level of Joint Secretary Member
- p) Representative of Ministry of Minority Affairs, at the level of Joint Secretary Member
- q) Representative of Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, at the level of Joint Secretary Member
