# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF JAL SHAKTI,

# DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT & GANGA

#### REJUVENATION

### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2721

ANSWERED ON 17.03.2022

#### RAIN CENTERS IN EVERY DISTRICT

#### 2721. SHRIMATI RITA BAHUGUNA JOSHI

Will the Minister of JAL SHAKTI be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is planning to setup rain centers in every district to give technical guidance to people on rain water harvesting structures;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the details of the States/districts where such rain centers have successfully opened and operating to fulfil the purpose of 'Catch the Rain';
- (d) whether the Government proposes to make mandatory for all the Government/PSU office buildings/new high rises buildings in the country to have rain harvesting structures;
- (e) if so, the details thereof; and
- (f) if not, the reasons therefor?

#### **ANSWER**

#### THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR JAL SHAKTI

#### (SHRI BISHWESWAR TUDU)

(a) & (b) Government of India launched Jal Shakti Abhiyan (JSA) in 2019 which continued during 2021 also. Further, the campaign "Jal Shakti Abhiyan: Catch the Rain" (JSA:CTR) was launched by the Hon'ble Prime Minister on 22 March 2021. Under JSA:CTR, this Department has requested all States/UTs to set up Jal Shakti Kendra in every district of the country which shall work as a rain centre/knowledge centre for providing all rain related information at one place.

In addition, Rainwater Harvesting Cells have been established by Central Ground Water Board (CGWB) in all the Regional Offices (18 nos) & Central Head Quarter of CGWB to provide technical guidance with respect to rainwater harvesting.

Besides, in order to assist public/policy makers/various government functionaries, the technique for effective rainwater harvesting, master plan on artificial recharge etc have been prepared by the CGWB which can be seen in the CGWB web-site at URL: http://cgwb.gov.in.

- (c) As per available information, 340 Jal Shakti Kendras have been set up in 340 Districts. State-wise and District-wise details of Jal Shakti Kendras are given at **Annexure-I**, **Annexure-II** respectively.
- (d) to (f) Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs (MoHUA) has formulated Model Building Bye Laws (MBBL), 2016 for the States to adopt measures suitable to local conditions, wherein adequate focus has been given on requirement of rainwater harvesting and water conservation measures etc. As per MBBL, all buildings having a plot size of 100 sq.m. or, more shall mandatorily include the complete proposal of rainwater harvesting. 33 States/ UTs have adopted the features of these Bye Laws.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2721 TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 17.03.2022 REGARDING "RAIN CENTERS IN EVERY DISTRICT".

# Jal Shakti Abhiyan: Catch the Rain

Jal Shakti Kendra				
S.No.	State	Numbers		
1	ANDAMAN AND NICOBAR ISLANDS	3		
2	ANDHRA PRADESH	13		
3	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	1		
4	ASSAM	1		
5	BIHAR	38		
6	CHHATTISGARH	3		
	DADRA AND NAGAR HAVELI AND	2		
7	DAMAN AND DIU			
8	DELHI	8		
9	GOA	1		
10	GUJARAT	5		
11	HARYANA	22		
12	HIMACHAL PRADESH	10		
13	JAMMU AND KASHMIR	12		
14	JHARKHAND	1		
15	KERALA	14		
16	MADHYA PRADESH	22		
17	MAHARASHTRA	32		
18	MANIPUR	5		
19	MEGHALAYA	1		
20	MIZORAM	1		
21	ODISHA	3		
22	PUDUCHERRY	1		
23	RAJASTHAN	23		
24	SIKKIM	3		
25	TAMIL NADU	1		
26	TELANGANA	33		
27	TRIPURA	7		
28	UTTAR PRADESH	61		
29	UTTARAKHAND	13		
	Total	340		

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2721 TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 17.03.2022 REGARDING "RAIN CENTERS IN EVERY DISTRICT".

# Jal Shakti Abhiyan: Catch the Rain Jal Shakti Kendra

Sl. No.	State	Districts
1.	Andaman ande Nicobar Islands	Nicobars, North and Middle Andaman, South Andmans
2.	Andhra Pradesh	Anantapur, Chittoor, East Godavari, Guntur, Krishna, Kurnool, Prakasam, SPSR Nellore, Srikakulam, Visakhapatanam, Vizianagaram, West Godavari, Y.S.R.
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	West Kameng
4.	Assam	Cachar
5.	Bihar	Araria, Arwal, Aurangabad, Banka, Begusarai, Bhagalpur, Bhojpur, Buxar, Darbhanga, Gaya, Gopalganj, Jamui, Jehanabad, Kaimur (Bhabua), Katihar, Khagaria, Kishanganj, Lakhisarai, Madhepura, Madhubani, Munger, Muzaffarpur, Nalanda, Nawada, Pashchim Champaran, Patna, Purbi Champaran, Purnia, Rohtas, Saharsa, Samastipur, Saran, Sheikhpura, Sheohar, Sitamarhi, Siwan, Supaul, Vaishali
6.	Chhattisgarh	Balod, Dhamtari, Mahasamund
7.	Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu	Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Diu
8.	Delhi	East Delhi, New Delhi, North East Delhi, North West Delhi, South Delhi, South East Delhi, South West Delhi, West Delhi
9.	Goa	North Goa
10.	Gujarat	Dohad, Gandhinagar, Kachh, Morbi, Vadodara,
11.	Haryana	Ambala, Bhiwani, Charki Dadri, Faridabad, Fatehabad, Gurugram, Hissar, Jhajjar, Jind, Kaithal, Karnal, Kurukshetra, Mahendragarh, Nuh, Palwal, Panchkula, Panipat, Rewari, Rohtak, Sirsa, Sonipat, Yamunanagar
12.	Himachal Pradesh	Bilaspur, Chamba, Hamirpur, Kangra, Kullu, Lahul and Spiti, Mandi, Shimla, Solan, Una.
13.	Jammu and Kashmir	Bandipora, Baramulla, Budgam, Doda, Kulgam, Pulwama, Rajouri, Ramban, Reasi, Samba, Shopian, Udhampur
14.	Jharkhand	Shebganj
15.	Kerala	Alappuzha, Ernakulam, Idukki, Kannur, Kasaragod, Kollam, Kottayam, Kozhikode, Malappuram, Palakkad, Pathanamthitta, Thiruvananthapuram, Thrissur, Wayanad.
16.	Madhya Pradesh	Agar Malwa, Barwani, Betul, Damoh, Datia, Guna, Harda, Hoshangabad, Indore, Jabalpur, Katni, Mandla, Mandsaur, Narsinghpur, Neemuch, Panna, Raisen, Rajgarh, Ratlam, Sehore, Sheopur, Shivpuri.

17.	Maharashtra	Ahmednagar, Akola, Amravati, Aurangabad, Beed, Bhandara, Buldhana, Chandrapur, Dhule, Gadchiroli, Gondia, Hingoli, Jalgaon, Jalna, Kolhapur, Latur, Nagpur, Nanded, Nandurbar, Nashik, Osmanabad, Parbhani, Pune, Raigad, Ratnagiri, Sangli, Satara, Solapur, Thane, Wardha, Washim, Yavatmal.	
18.	Manipur	Bishnupur, Kakching, Kamjong, Pherzawl, Thoubal,	
19.	Meghalaya	West Garo Hills	
20.	Mizoram	Lunglei	
21	Odisha	Balangir, Boudh, Sonepur,	
22	Puducherry	Pondicherry	
23.	Rajasthan	Ajmer, Alwar, Baran, Barmer, Bharatppur, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bundi, Chittorgarh, Churu, Jaipur, Jalore, Jhalawar, Jodhpur, Kota, Nagaur, pali, Rajsamand, Sawai madhopur, Sikar, Sirohi, Tonk Udaipur	
24.	Sikkim	East District, North District, West District	
25.	Tamil Nadu	Theni	
26.	Telangana	Adilabad, Bhadradri Kothagudem, Hanumakonda, Hyderabad, Jagitial, Jangoan, Jayashankar Bhupalapally, Jogulamba Gadwal, Kamareddy, Karimnagar, Khammam, Kumuram Bheem Asifabad, Mahabubabad, Mahabubnagar, Mancherial, Medak, Medchal Malkajgiri, Mulugu, Nagarkurnool, Nalgonda, Narayanpet, Nirmal, Nizamabad, Peddapalli, Rajanna Sircilla, Ranga Reddy, Sangareedy, Siddipet, Suryapet, Vikarabad, Wanaparthy, Warangal, Yadadri Bhuvanagiri.	
27.	Tripura	Dhalai, Gomati, North Tripura, Sepahijala, South Tripura, Unakoti, West Tripura	
28.	Uttar Pradesh	Agra, Aligarh, Ambedkar Nagar, Amethi, Amroha, Auraiya, Ayodhya, Azamgarh, Bahraich, Ballia, Balrampur, Banda, Barabanki, Bareilly, Basti, Bhadohi, Bijnor, Budaun, Bulandshahr, Chandauli, Deoria, Etah, Etawah, Farrukhabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Ghaziabad, Ghazipur, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Hamirppur, Hardoi, Hathras, Jalaun, Jaunpur, Jhansi, Kannauj, Kanpur Dehat, Kanpur Nagar, Kasganj, Kheri, Lalitpur, Lucknow, Mahoba, Mathura, Mirzapur, Moradabad, Muzaffarnagar, Pilibhit, Pratapgarh, Prayagraj, Rae Bareli, Rampur, Saharanpur, Sambhal, Sant Kabeer Nagar, Shravasti, Siddharth Nagar, Sitapur, Sonbhadra, Sultanpur, Unnao.	
29.	Uttarakhand	Almora, Bageshwar, Chamoli, Champawat, Dehradun, Haridwar, Nainital, Pauri Garhwal, Pithoragarh, Rudra Prayag, Tehri Garhwal, Udham Singh Nagar, Uttar Kashi.	