LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2660 TO BE ANSWERED ON 17th March, 2022 PNG Supply in Bihar

†2660. SHRI DULAL CHAND GOSWAMI:

पेट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to supply Piped Natural Gas (PNG) to the households in Bihar including Katihar Parliamentary Constituency under city Gas distribution network;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether any agency has been engaged for implementation of the above proposal; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

पेट्रोलियमऔरप्राकृतिकगैसमंत्रालयमेंराज्यमंत्री

(श्रीरामेश्वरतेली)

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI RAMESWAR TELI)

(a) to (d):Establishment of CNG Stations and providing PNG connections is part of the development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) network and the same is carried out by the entities authorized by Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB). Upto the 10th CGD bidding round, 11 Geographical Areas (GAs) including Katihar District, have been authorized in the state of Bihar by PNGRB. Further, in order to increase coverage of CGD networks, PNGRB has issued Letter of Intent (LoI) to BPCL for development of CGD network in one GA (Darbhanga, Madhubani, Supaul, Sitamarhi and Sheogar districts GA), in Bihar recently.Details of GAs authorized in Bihar are given at **Annexure**. Further, PNGRB has launched 11A CGD bidding round for development of CGD network, which includes Banka district of Bihar.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (d) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2660 TO BE ANSWERED ON 17.03.2022 REGARDING PNG SUPPLY IN BIHAR.

Details of authorized GAs in Bihar

S.No.	Geographical Area/CGD	State	Authorized CGD Entity
	Networks	2 3333	
1	Aurangabad, Kaimur and Rohtas	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation Limited
	Districts		-
2	Begusarai District	Bihar	Think Gas Begusarai Private
			Limited
3	Gaya and Nalanda Districts	Bihar	Indian-Oil Adani Gas Private
			Limited
4	Patna District	Bihar	GAIL (India) Limited
5	Araria, Purnia, Katihar and	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation Limited
	Kishanganj Districts		
6	Arwal, Jehanabad, Bhojpur and	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation Limited
	Buxar Districts		
7	Khagaria, Saharsa and Madhepura	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation Limited
	Districts		
8	Lakhisarai, Munger and Bhagalpur	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation Limited
	Districts		
9	Muzaffarpur, Vaishali, Saran	Bihar	Indian Oil Corporation Limited
	Samastipur Districts		
10	Nawada and Koderma Districts	Bihar &	Indian Oil Corporation Limited
		Jharkhand	
11	Sheikhpura, Jamui and	Bihar &	Indian Oil Corporation Limited
	DeogharDisrticts	Jharkhand	
Details of Letter of Intent issued in 11 th CGD bidding round.			
12	Darbhanga, Madhubani, Supaul,	Bihar	BPCL
	Sitamarhi and Sheohar Districts		

Source: PNGRB