**O.I.H**.

# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2572

### **TO BE ANSWERED ON MARCH 17, 2022**

# **SCHEMES TO DEVELOP TOWNS**

# NO. 2572. DR. BHARATIBEN DHIRUBHAI SHIYAL:

# **SHRI SHANKAR LALWANI:**

Will the Minister of HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is formulating schemes to develop towns in a planned manner in accordance with the rising urban population of the country;
- (b) if so, the steps being taken by the Government to provide facilities to the towns in a planned manner;
- (c) whether the towns important from the historical, religious and tourism point of view have been selected; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

#### ANSWER

#### THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE

#### **MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS**

#### (SHRI KAUSHAL KISHORE)

(a) & (b): Fifteenth Finance Commission ( $15^{th}$  FC) has recommended performance based challenge fund of ₹8,000 crore for incubation of 8 new cities. The amount available for each proposed new city is ₹1,000 crore. As per the recommendation of the Commission, Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs had constituted the expert committee for finalisation of the minimum eligibility conditions & bid parameters for selection of the cities. Urban development including urban planning comes under the purview of State Government. This Ministry supports the efforts of the State/ Union Territories through its various missions/ schemes.

Atal Mission for Rejuvenation & Urban Transformation (AMRUT) was launched on 25 June, 2015 with central outlay of ₹50,000 crore for achieving universal water supply and increasing coverage of sewerage and septage management from 31% to 62% in 500 selected AMRUT cities. AMRUT, the first focused water Mission, targeted ease of living for urban dwellers by providing water tap connections to 4.68 crore households in 500 Mission cities as per Census, 2011.

Under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT), a sub-scheme on 'Formulation of GIS based Master Plan for AMRUT Cities' has been approved to facilitate States and cities to take up Master Planning and is being implemented in 456 towns of 35 States/ UTs.

To carry forward the efforts made under AMRUT Mission, AMRUT 2.0 has been launched on October 1, 2021 with the objective of providing universal coverage of piped water supply in all 4,378 statutory towns and universal coverage of sewerage & septage management in 500 AMRUT cities (rest of the cities with population less than 1 lakh will be covered through Faecal Sludge and Septage Management (FSSM) under Swachh Bharat Mission 2.0) in five years from the launch of Mission. It will also focus on rejuvenation of water bodies and developing green spaces & parks.

Also Government of India has launched Smart Cities Mission (SCM) on 25 June, 2015. 100 cities have been selected for development as Smart Cities through 4 rounds of competition from January 2016 to June 2018. The objective of SCM is to promote cities that provide core infrastructure and give a decent quality of life to its citizen, a clean and sustainable environment through application of 'Smart' solutions. (c) & (d): Under AMRUT all cities with a population of one lakh or more as per Census 2011, all other capital cities of States/ UTs, all cities/ towns classified as Heritage Cities under the National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY), identified cities on the stem of the main rivers, from hill states, islands and tourist destinations, have been covered. HRIDAY Mission ended on 31.03.2019 on completion of its period. Heritage component has been included in National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual, Heritage Augmentation Drive (PRASHAD) administered by Ministry of Tourism. List of HRIDAY cities is at Annexure-I

\* \* \* \* \*

Annexure mentioned in reply to point (c) & (d) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2572 for answer on 17.03.2022 regarding 'Schemes to Develop Towns'.

# **LIST OF HRIDAY CITIES**

- 1. Ajmer
- 2. Amravati
- 3. Amritsar
- 4. Badami
- 5. Dwarka
- 6. Gaya
- 7. Kanchipuram
- 8. Mathura
- 9. Puri
- 10. Varanasi
- 11. Velankanni
- **12. Warangal**

\* \* \* \* \*