GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF JAL SHAKTI, DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT & GANGA REJUVENATION

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED STARRED QUESTION NO. 232

ANSWERED ON 03.02.2022

DAMS IN SEISMIC ZONES

232. ADV. DEAN KURIAKOSE:

Will the Minister of JAL SHAKTI be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has the details of the seismological zone in which all the dams in the country are situated;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) Whether the Government has any plan to install a seismograph in the Mullaperiyar dam; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR JAL SHAKTI

(SHRI BISHWESWAR TUDU)

(a) & (b) Yes. As per Bureau of Indian Standards Code IS 1893 (Part 1) 2016: 'Criteria For Earthquake Resistant Design of Structures', Country has been divided into four seismic zones (Zone II, III, IV & V).

National Register of Large Dams 2019, compiled by the Central Water Commission, contains the State-wise seismic zone information of the dams along with other dams' basic features. This document is accessible through the link - http://cwc.gov.in/publication/nrld

(c) & (d) Tamil Nadu Government has given the work order for installation of seismic instruments in the Mulla Periyar dam to the National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad.
