# **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA**

# **MINISTRY OF INFORMATION & BROADCASTING**

### LOK SABHA

#### **UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 2150**

#### (TO BE ANSWERED ON 15.03.2022)

## **DRM DIGITAL RADIO**

2150. ADV. DEAN KURIAKOSE:

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has the data on the number of
  Digital Radio Mondiale (DRM) digital radio stations in the
  country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) the details and the number of DRM radio stations for Malayalam language;
- (d) whether there is any proposal for installing a DRM shortwave transmitter in Kerala's Thiruvananthapuram for those without internet or communication access and for Kerala's fishing fleets on seas; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof along with the steps taken by the Government in this regard?

#### ANSWER

# THE MINISTER OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING; AND MINISTER OF YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS

#### (SHRI ANURAG SINGH THAKUR)

(a) to (e) Prasar Bharati currently has 32 AIR Stations where 38 Medium Wave transmitters and 3 Short Wave transmitters are in operation in AM bands which are capable of operation in both Analog Mode and also in DRM Digital Radio mode. The state-wise details of such stations are indicated in Annexure.

These transmitters are carrying services in multiple languages based on the national, regional and local aspirations of the target audiences including Malayalam language.

There is no proposal for installation of DRM Short Wave transmitters at Thiruvananthapuram at present. However, Prasar Bharati is providing its various Radio channels originating from various AIR stations in the State of Kerala on its "newsonAIR" application on "Android" and "iOS" platform for mobile users. In addition, it is also providing "AIR Kerala" Satellite Radio channel in Malayalam language digitally on "DD FreeDish", a DTH platform of Prasar Bharati.

"DD FreeDish" service is available without any monthly charges and it does not require any internet connection.

# ANNEXURE REFFERED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (e) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2150 FOR ANSWER ON 15.03.2022.

Sr. No.	Place of Radio	State	Power of MW	Power of SW
	Station		transmitter	Transmitter
1.	Vijayawada	Andhra Pradesh	100 kW	
2.	Itanagar	Arunachal Pradesh	200 kW	
3.	Tawang	Arunachal Pradesh	20 kW	
4.	Passighat	Arunachal Pradesh	200 kW	
5.	Dibrugarh	Assam	300 kW	
6.	Guwahati	Assam	20 kW	
7.	Patna	Bihar	100kW	
8.	Delhi	Delhi	20 kW & 200 kW	100 kW
			(2 nos.)	(2 nos.)
9.	Panaji	Goa	100 KW	
10.	Ahmedabad	Gujarat	200 kW	
11.	Rajkot	Gujarat	300 KW & 1000	
			kW (2nos.)	
12.	Jammu	Jammu & Kashmir	300 kW	
13.	Ranchi	Jharkhand	100 kW	
14.	Bangalore	Karnataka	200 kW	500 kW
15.	Dharwad	Karnataka	200 kW	
16.	Jabalpur	M.P.	200 kW	

17.	Mumbai	Maharashtra	100 kW & 100 kW
			(2 nos.)
18.	Pune	Maharashtra	100 kW
19.	Jalandhar	Punjab	300 kW
20.	Ajmer	Rajasthan	200 kW
21.	Barmer	Rajasthan	20 kW
22.	Bikaner	Rajasthan	20 kW
23.	Suratgarh	Rajasthan	300 kW
24.	Chennai	Tamil Nadu	20 kW & 200 kW
			(2 nos.)
25.	Tiruchirappalli	Tamil Nadu	100 kW
26.	Lucknow	Uttar Pradesh	300 kW
27.	Varanasi	Uttar Pradesh	100 kW
28.	Kolkata	West Bengal	100 kW, 200 kW
			&1000 kW (3 nos.)
29.	Siliguri	West Bengal	200 kW
30.	Jagdalpur	Chhattisgarh	100 kW
31.	Vishakhapatnam	Andhra Pradesh	100 kW
32.	Hyderabad	Telangana	200 kW

\*\*\*\*\*