# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

### **LOK SABHA**

### UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1874 TO BE ANSWERED ON 14.03.2022

### KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS IN TELANGANA

## 1874. SHRI B.B.PATIL: SHRI NAMA NAGESWARA RAO:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has any proposal to set up new Kendriya Vidyalayas (KV) in the country and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the details of the districts in the country having more than one Kendriya Vidyalaya at present, State-wise; and
- (c) whether the Government has received any proposal to set up new Kendriya Vidyalaya in Telangana particularly in rural areas and if so, the details thereof and action taken thereto?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (SMT. ANNPURNA DEVI)

- (a) Opening of new Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) is a continuous process. KVs are opened primarily to cater to the educational needs of the wards of transferable Central Government Employees including Defence & Para-Military personnel, Central Autonomous Bodies, Central Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs) and Central Institute of Higher Learning (IHL) by providing a common programme of education throughout the country. Proposals for opening of new KVs are considered only if sponsored by Ministries or Departments of the Government of India / State Governments / Union Territories (UTs) Administrations and committing resources for setting up a new KV. The proposals received from various sponsoring authorities found fulfilling the mandatory pre-requisites for opening of new KVs have to compete with other such proposals under the "Challenge Method" and subject to approval of the competent authority.
- (b) State/UT-wise details of 261 districts having more than one KV across the country are annexed.
- (c) Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS) has not received any proposal in the prescribed proforma fulfilling the KVS norms from the State Government of Telangana for opening of new KVs.

\*\*\*\*

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1874 RAISED BY SHRI B.B. PATIL & SHRI NAMA NAGESWARA RAO, HON'BLE MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT TO BE ANSWERED ON 14/03/2022 REGARDING KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS IN TELANGANA

# STATE/UT-WISE DETAILS OF 261 DISTRICTS HAVING MORE THAN ONE KENDRIYA VIDYALAYA

SI. No.	Name of State/ UTs	Name of Districts having more than one Kendriya Vidyalaya
1.	Andaman & Nikobar	Andaman
2.	Andhra Pradesh	Anantapur, Chittoor, East Godawari, Guntur, Kadapa, Krishna, Nellore, Prakasam and Vishakhapatnam.
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	Papumpare and West Kameng
4.	Assam	Cachar, Dibrugarh, Karbi Anglong, Jorhat, Darrang, Nagaon, Tinsukia, Kamrup (Metro), Sonitpur and Sibsagar
5.	Bihar	Begusarai, Saran, Darbhanga, Gaya, Muzzaffarpur, Patna, Samastipur, Siwan, Aurangabad and Nalanda
6.	Chandigarh	Chandigarh
7.	Chhattisgarh	Durg, Bilaspur, Raipur, Dhamtari, Rajnandgaon, Korba, Mahasamund, Koriya and Dantewada
8.	Delhi	East Delhi, West Delhi, South Delhi, North West Delhi and South West Delhi
9.	Goa	North Goa and South Goa
10.	Gujarat	Ahmedabad, Kutch, Rajkot, Vadodara, Gandhinagar, Jamnagar and Surat
11.	Haryana	Faridabad, Karnal, Jhajjar, Sonipat, Rewari, Sirsa, Ambala, Panchkula and Gurgaon
12.	Himachal Pradesh	Hamirpur, Una, Mandi, Shimla, Kangra, Solan and Chamba
13.	Jammu & Kashmir	Anantnag, Doda, Kathua, Rajouri, Budgam, Baramula, Jammu, Samba, Srinagar and Udhampur
14.	Jharkhand	Ramgarh, Bokaro, West Singbhum, Dhanbad, East Singbhum and Ranchi
15.	Karnataka	Bellary, Dharwad, Dakshina Kannada, Mysore, Raichur, Koppal, Bangalore Urban and Belgaum
16.	Kerala	Pathanamthitta, Kozhikode, Ernakulam, Kasragode, Kottayam, Palakkad, Thrissur, Thiruvananthapuram and Kannur.
17.	Ladakh	Leh
18.	Madhya Pradesh	Balaghat, Khargone, Bhopal, Annuppur, Damoh, Guna, Indore, Shivpuri, Khandwa, Mandsaur, Ashok Nagar, Murena, Neemuch, Hoshangabad, Burhanpur, Rewa, Sagar, Satna, Seoni, Vidisha, Umaria, Betul, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Katni, Chhindwara, Shahadol and Singrauli
19.	Maharashtra	Nanded, Nagpur, Thane, Ahmednagar, Nasik, Mumbai City, Mumbai Suburban, Wardha, Pune, Jalgaon, Chanderpur and Raigad
20.	Manipur	Chura Chand Pur and Imphal East
21.	Meghalaya	East Khasi Hills Ri-Bhoi
22.	Mizoram	Aizawal
23.	Nagaland	Dimapur and Kohima
24.	Odisha	Angul, Mayurbhanj, Ganjam, Kalahandi, Khurda, Bolangir, Sundergarh, Cuttack, Keonjhar, Koraput, Sambalpur, Rayagada, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Balasore and Nuapada
25.	Puducherry	Puducherry
26.	Punjab	Kapurthala, Ferozepur, Gurdaspur, Tarantaran, Fazilka, SAS Nagar (Mohali), Sangrur, Amritsar, Bathinda, Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Pathankot and Patiala
27.	Rajasthan	Ajmer, Alwar, Sawaimadhapur, Kota, Udaipur, Jaisalmer, Jhunjhunu, Tonk, Bikaner, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Ganga Nagar, Barmer, Baran and Dausa
28.	Sikkim	East Sikkim

29.	Tamil Nadu	Vellore, Chennai, Kanchipuram, Coimbatore, Madurai, Ramanathapuram, Nilgiri, Tiruvallur, Tiruchirapalli and Sivagangai.
30.	Telangana	Hyderabad, Sangareddy, Nalgonda, Medchal (Malkajgiri), Nizamabad and Ranga Reddy
31.	Tripura	West Tripura
32.	Uttar Pradesh	Allahabad, Amethi, Bareilly, Sonebhadra, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Gautam Budh Nagar, Lucknow, Jhansi, Mathura, Rae Bareli, Varanasi, Lakhimpur Kheri, Agra, Ghaziabad, Kanpur Nagar, Meerut, Baghpat and Shahjahanpur
33.	Uttarakhand	Almora, Nainital, Dehradun, Chamoli, Bageshwar, Udham Singh Nagar, Pithora Garh, Tehri Garhwal, Pauri, Uttarkashi, Champawat and Haridwar
34.	West Bengal	Paschim Burdwan, Purba Burdwan, Howrah, 24 Parganas (North), Birbhum, Nadia, Cooch Behar, Hooghly, Jalpaiguri, Alipurduar, Darjeeling, Malda, Kolkata and Midnapore (West)

\*\*\*\*