GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF POSTS

LOKSABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1370 TO BE ANSWERED ON 9THFEBRUARY, 2022

POST OFFICES IN ATTINGAL

1370. ADV. ADOOR PRAKASH:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware that many Post Offices in Attingal Parliamentary constituency in Kerala are functioning in rented buildings since long time;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the details of Post Offices having own land and are still working in rented buildings;
- (d) whether the Government has received representation for constructing departmental buildings for these Post Offices; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and the decision taken thereto?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI DEVUSINH CHAUHAN)

- (a) Yes, sir.
- (b) Out of 43 departmental Post Offices in Attingal Parliamentary Constituency in Kerala, 36 Post Offices are functioning in rented buildings as per the details in Annexure.
- (c) Places in Attingal Parliamentary Constituency where the Department of Posts owns land but Post Offices are functioning from rented buildings are Avanavancherry, Palayamkunnu, Pangode, Perunguzhi, Vamanapuram and Varkala.
- (d) Yes, Sir.
- (e) Matter was raised during Zero Hour on 19.3.2020 and also under Rule 377 in the LokSabha on 16.12.2021 by Hon'ble Member of Parliament (MP) Adv. AdoorPrakash regarding construction of buildings for Post Offices in Attingal Parliamentary Constituency.

Decision for constructing Post Office buildings at available vacant plots of land owned by the Department of Posts is taken based on requirement and priorities of the Department and subject to availability of funds, etc. Accordingly, construction of post office at Varkala in Attingal Parliamentary Constituency has been taken up and administrative approval for the same has been issued.

ANNEXURE AS REFERRED TO IN PART (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1370 TO BE ANSWERED ON 09.02.2022.

LIST OF POST OFFICES FUNCTIONING IN RENTED BUILDINGS IN ATTINGAL PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCY IN KERALA CIRCLE

- 1. Alamcode
- 2. Anjengo
- 3. Avanavancherry
- 4. AyroorVarkala
- 5. Cheruniyoor
- 6. Edava
- 7. Kallambalam
- 8. Kallara
- 9. Kaniyapuram
- 10. Kizhuvilam
- 11. Kudayoor
- 12. MadavoorPallickal
- 13. Manambur
- 14. Melvattoor
- 15. Mithirmala
- 16. Moongode
- 17. Navaikulam
- 18. Nedunganda
- 19. Palayamkunnu
- 20. PallickalKilinamoor
- 21. Pangode
- 22. Perunguzhi
- 23. Pothencode
- 24. Pulimath
- 25. Puthencurichy
- 26. Santhigiri
- 27. Sreenivasapuram
- 28. St. Xaviers College
- 29. Thattathumala
- 30. Thonnackal
- 31. Vadasserikkonam
- 32. Vamanapuram
- 33. Varkala
- 34. Vattappara
- 35. Vembayam
- 36. Vennicode
