GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF JAL SHAKTI, DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT & GANGA REJUVENATION

LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. *37 ANSWERED ON 03.02.2022

SHARING OF WATER BETWEEN ANDHRA PRADESH AND TELANGANA

*37. DR. G. RANJITH REDDY SHRIMATI KAVITHA MALOTHU

Will the Minister of JAL SHAKTI be pleased to state:

- (a) the reasons as to why the Ministry has not distributed water between Andhra Pradesh and Telangana as per the Inter-State River Water Disputes Act, 1956;
- (b) whether the Ministry has made any recommendation to this effect to Brijesh Kumar Tribunal;
- (c) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to allot water at 50:50 ratio till the tribunal finalises water distribution between Telangana and Andhra Pradesh; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR JAL SHAKTI

(SHRI BISHWESWAR TUDU)

(a) to (e) A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (e) OF STARRED QUESTION NO.*37 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.02.2022 REGARDING "SHARING OF WATER BETWEEN ANDHRA PRADESH AND TELANGANA".

(a) to (c) The Government of India (GoI) in April 2004 constituted Krishna Water Disputes Tribunal (KWDT-II) for adjudicating dispute between the States of Maharashtra, Karnataka and erstwhile Andhra Pradesh under Section 4 of the Inter-State River Water Dispute (ISRWD) Act, 1956 with Hon'ble Justice Shri Brijesh Kumar as chairman of the Tribunal. The Tribunal gave its report and decision under section 5(2) of the Act on 30.12.2010. The party States and the Central Government sought further clarification from the Tribunal under section 5(3) of the Act. The Tribunal gave its Further Report on 29.11. 2013 under section 5(3) of the ISRWD Act, 1956. However, on account of stay by Supreme Court vide its order dated 16.09.2011, the award could not be published in the Official Gazette in terms of section 6(1) of the ISRWD Act, 1956. The matter of KWDT-II is sub judice before the Hon'ble Supreme Court.

Subsequently, Telangana State came into existence on 02.06.2014 vide Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014 (APRA 2014). GoI, vide its notification dated 15.05.2014, extended the tenure of KWDT-II for two years or until further order whichever is earlier with effect from 01.08.2014 in exercise of the powers conferred by the sub-section 3 of section 5 of the ISRWD Act, 1956 so as to address the Terms of Reference (TOR) specified in clauses (a) and (b) of the Section 89 of APRA 2014. The term of the Tribunal has been extended further from time to time on yearly basis. Recently, the term of the Tribunal was extended for a period of one year w.e.f. 01.08.2021.

In the 2nd Meeting of the Apex Council constituted under APRA 2014, which was held on 06.10.2020 under the chairmanship of Hon'ble Minister of Jal Shakti, both the States (Andhra Pradesh and Telangana) agreed for setting up of a Godavari Tribunal for adjudicating on the sharing of the waters of Godavari between A.P and Telangana. However, as is legally required, no formal request from either the Government of Telangana or the Government of A.P. has been received for constituting a Tribunal in this matter.

(d) & (e) As per the decision in the meeting held in June 2015 in the then Ministry of Water Resources, RD & GR with the States of Andhra Pradesh and Telengana, it was mutually agreed for sharing of Krishna river waters between Andhra Pradesh and Telengana for the water year 2015-16. The arrangement so agreed upon was that out of 811 thousand million cubic feet (TMC) allocated by Krishna Water Disputes Tribunal to erstwhile undivided State of Andhra Pradesh, 512.04 TMC and 298.96 TMC would be the share of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana respectively.

Later on, the year-wise sharing of water agreed by both States as per decisions in various Krishna River Management Board (KRMB) meetings is as follows:

Sl No	Water Year		Share (in TMC / %)	
		Andhra Pradesh	Telangana	
1.	2016-17	512.04 TMC	298.96 TMC	
2.	2017-18 to 2021-22	66 %	34 %	
