# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 699

### ANSWERED ON 02.12.2021

#### **SOLAR CITY**

699. SHRI RAVI KISHAN

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to develop at least one city in each of the States of the country as Solar City;
- (b) if so, the details in this regard and the time by which the said proposal is likely to be approved;
- (c) whether the Government has so far identified cities in this regard and if so, the details thereof, Statewise;
- (d) the details of the funds allocated and released for implementation of the said scheme, Statewise; and
- (e) the steps taken/being taken by the Government to achieve the said target in a time bound manner?

#### **ANSWER**

#### THE MINISTER OF NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER

(SHRI R.K. SINGH)

(a) to (e)The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy has requested each State /Union Territory to select at-least one city to be developed as Solar City. A concept note on developing solar city was circulated to the States/UTs with a request to finalise an action plan for development of the identified cities as Solar Cities and implement the plan in a time bound manner. Funds available under different schemes can be utilised for development of Solar Cities. 24 States /UTs have identified cities in this regard. The list of the identified cities is placed at **Annexure**.

\*\*\*\*

## Annexure referred to part (c) of the Lok sabha unstarred question no. 699 dated 02.12.2021 on Solar City by Shri Ravi Kishan

S. No.	State/UT	Identified cities by States/UTs
1	Assam	Majuli District
2	Bihar	Bodh Gaya, Rajgir, Vaishali
3	Chhattisgarh	New Raipur
4	Delhi	NDMC
5	Gujarat	Dwarka
6	Haryana	Panchkula
7	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla
8	Jharkhand	Giridih
9	Karnataka	Hospet city in Bellary and Bidar City
10	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram
11	Madhya Pradesh	Sanchi
12	Meghalaya	TURA Town of West Garo Hills
13	Odisha	Bhubaneswar
14	Rajasthan	Pushkar and Jaisalmer
15	Uttar Pradesh	Ayodhya and Prayag Raj
16	Uttarakhand	Dehradun
17	West Bengal	Prantik in Birbhum, Shantiniketan
18	Andaman and Nikobar	Shaheed Dweep
19	Punjab	Amritsar
20	Sikkim	Jorethang
21	Tripura	Udaipur Town
22	Mizoram	Saitual
23	Daman and Diu and Dadra	Diu city , Diu and Damanwada
	and Nagar Haveli	Panchayat, Daman
24	Goa	Panjim