GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FINANCE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3460

TO BE ANSWERED ON MONDAY THE 20TH December, 2021 AGRAHAYANA 29, 1943 (SAKA)

SHARING OF FUEL TAX

3460. SHRI SISIR KUMAR ADHIKARI:

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the fuel tax per litre was Rs. 9.48 in 2014, of which Rs. 3.03 was devolved to the State Governments and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Centre- State ratio of fuel tax sharing was 68:32 in 2014 and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the fuel tax per litre is Rs. 32.9 in 2021, of which Rs. 0.57 has been given to the State Governments and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) whether the Centre-State ratio of fuel tax has been revised to 98:02 in 2021 and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE SH. PANKAJ CHOUDHARY

- (a): The applicable duties on petrol per litre in 2014 were as follows:
 - i. Basic Excise Duty: Rs. 1.2
 - ii. Additional Excise Duty: Rs.2
- iii. Special Additional Excise Duty: Rs. 6
- iv. Education cess@3%: 28 paise

Out of the above, the Basic excise duty component was shareable.

- (b): During the year 2014-15, as per accepted recommendations of the Thirteenth Finance Commission, the States' share was fixed at 32% of the net proceeds of shareable Central Taxes/ Duties.
- (c) and (d): Devolution to State Governments is made out of the Basic Excise Duty component on the basis of the formula prescribed by the Finance Commission from time to time. Present total Excise duty on petrol is Rs. 27.90 per litre. This includes Basic Excise Duty, which is Rs. 1.4 per litre.
