GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3408 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 17th DECEMBER, 2021

GOVERNMENT MEDICAL COLLEGES ATTACHED WITH DISTRICT HOSPITALS

3408. DR. DHAL SINGH BISEN: SHRI SAPTAGIRI SANKAR ULAKA:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has taken a decision to set up Government Medical Colleges attached with district hospitals in each district of the country, if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the detail of medical colleges sanctioned/proposed to be set up in aspirational districts in the country, State-wise including district-wise in Odisha;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to set up Medical College in Rayagada district, Odisha and if so, the present status thereof; and
- (d) the details of state's share in the said project and steps required to complete the same with timelines of its implementation?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

- (a) The Ministry of Health & Family Welfare administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) for 'Establishment of new Medical Colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals'. Under the Scheme, 157 new medical colleges have been approved in three phases and 70 are already functional. The details are at Annexure-I. Further, under Central Sector Scheme for setting up of new AIIMS, 22 AIIMS have been approved. Undergraduate courses have started in 18 AIIMS.
- (b) Out of 157 sites, 40 are in aspirational districts. The details are at Annexure-II.
- (c) & (d) Under Phase-III of the above Centrally Sponsored Scheme, all States/UTs were requested to submit proposals along with Detailed Project Report (DPR) for consideration by the Ministry. No proposal was received from the State Government of Odisha for establishment of a medical college at Rayagada district.

Centrally Sponsored scheme for 'Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals'

Approved medical colleges

State/UT No. of colleges Phase-I						
Phase-I1A & N Islands1Port Blair2Arunachal Pradesh1Naharlagun3Assam4Dhubri, Nagaon, North Lakhimpur, Diphu4Bihar3Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur5Chhattisgarh2Rajnandgaon, Sarguja6Himachal Pradesh3Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)7Haryana1Bhiwani8Jharkhand3Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)						
1A & N Islands1Port Blair2Arunachal Pradesh1Naharlagun3Assam4Dhubri, Nagaon, North Lakhimpur, Diphu4Bihar3Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur5Chhattisgarh2Rajnandgaon, Sarguja6Himachal Pradesh3Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)7Haryana1Bhiwani8Jharkhand3Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)						
2Arunachal Pradesh1Naharlagun3Assam4Dhubri, Nagaon, North Lakhimpur, Diphu4Bihar3Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur5Chhattisgarh2Rajnandgaon, Sarguja6Himachal Pradesh3Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)7Haryana1Bhiwani8Jharkhand3Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)						
3Assam4Dhubri, Nagaon, North Lakhimpur, Diphu4Bihar3Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur5Chhattisgarh2Rajnandgaon, Sarguja6Himachal Pradesh3Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)7Haryana1Bhiwani8Jharkhand3Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)						
4 Bihar 3 Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur 5 Chhattisgarh 2 Rajnandgaon, Sarguja 6 Himachal Pradesh 3 Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour) 7 Haryana 1 Bhiwani 8 Jharkhand 3 Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)						
5Chhattisgarh2Rajnandgaon, Sarguja6Himachal Pradesh3Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)7Haryana1Bhiwani8Jharkhand3Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)						
6 Himachal Pradesh 3 Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour) 7 Haryana 1 Bhiwani 8 Jharkhand 3 Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)						
7 Haryana 1 Bhiwani 8 Jharkhand 3 Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)						
8 Jharkhand 3 Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)						
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,						
10 Madhya Pradesh 7 Datia, Khandwa, Ratlam, Shahdol, Vidisha, C Shivpuri	Chindwara,					
11 Maharashtra 1 Gondia						
12 Meghalaya 1 West Garo Hills (Tura)						
13 Mizoram 1 Falkawn						
14 Nagaland 1 Naga Hospital (Kohima)						
15 Odisha 5 Balasore, Baripada (Mayurbhanj), Bolangir, Kora	aput, Puri					
16 Punjab 1 SAS Nagar						
17 Rajasthan 7 Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Churu, Dungar Sikar	rpur, Pali,					
18 Uttar Pradesh 5 Basti, Faizabad, Firozabad, Shahjahanpur, Bahra	ich					
19 Uttarakhand 1 Almora						
West Bengal 5 Birbhum (Rampur Hat), Cooch behar, Diamon Purulia, Raiganj (North Dinajpur)	d harbour,					
Phase –II (24)						
1 Bihar 5 Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Siwan, Buxar, Jamui						
2 Jharkhand 2 Koderma, Chaibasa (Singhbhum)						
3 Madhya Pradesh 1 Satna						
4 Odisha 1 Jajpur						
5 Rajasthan 1 Dholpur						
J I	harthnagar					
(Domariyaganj), Deoria, Ghazipur, Mirzapur						
7 West Bengal 5 Barasat, Uluberia, Arambagh, Jhargram, Tamluk						
8 Sikkim 1 Gangtok						
Phase-III (75)						
1 Andhra Pradesh 3 Piduguralla, Paderu, Machilipatnam						
2 Assam 1 Kokrajhar						
3 Chhattisgarh 3 Korba, Mahasamund, Kanker						

4	Gujarat	5	Narmada, Navsari, Panchmahal, Porbandar, Morbi
5	Jammu & Kashmir	2	Udhampur, Handwara (Distt. Kupwara)
6	Karnataka	4	Chikkamagaluru, Haveri, Yadgiri, Chikkaballapura
7	Ladakh	1	Leh
8	Madhya Pradesh	6	Rajgarh, Mandla, Neemuch, Mandsaur, Sheopur, Singrauli
9	Maharashtra	1	Nandurbar
10	Manipur	1	Churachandpur
11	Nagaland	1	Mon
12	Odisha	1	Kalahandi
13	Punjab	2	Kapurthala, Hoshiarpur
14	Rajasthan	15	Alwar, Baran, Bansawara, Chittorgarh, Jaisalmer, Karauli,
			Nagaur, Shri Ganganagar, Sirohi, Bundi, Sawai Madhopur,
			Tonk, Hanumangarh, Jhunjhunu, Dausa
15	Uttarakhand	3	Rudrapur (Distt. Udham Singh Nagar), Pithoragarh,
			Haridwar
16	Uttar Pradesh	14	Bijnaur, Kushinagar, Sultanpur, Gonda, Lalitpur,
			Lakhimpur Kheri, Chandauli, Bulandshahar, Sonbhadra,
			Pilibhit, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Kaushambi, Amethi
17	Tamil Nadu	11	Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Ramanathapuram, Namakkal, Dindigul,
			Virudhunagar, Krishnagiri, Tiruvallur, Nagapattinam,
			Ariyalur, Kallakurichi
18	West Bengal	1	Jalpaiguri

Annexure-II

Details of medical colleges approved in Aspirational Districts (AD)

S. No.	Name of the State		Name of the District
1	Andhra Pradesh	1	Paderu (Vishakhapatnam)
2	Assam	1	Dhubri
3	Bihar	3	Purnia, Sitamarhi, Jamui
4	Chhattisgarh	4	Rajnandgaon, Korba, Mahasamund, Kanker
5	Gujarat	1	Narmada
6	Himachal Pradesh	1	Chamba
7	Jammu & Kashmir	2	Baramulla, Handwara (Distt. Kupwara)
8	Jharkhand	4	Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj), Chaibasa (Singhbhum)
9	Karnataka	1	Yadgiri
10	Madhya Pradesh	4	Khandwa, Vidisha, Rajgarh, Singrauli
11	Maharashtra	1	Nandurbar
12	Odisha	3	Bolangir, Koraput, Kalahandi
13	Rajasthan	5	Dholpur, Baran, Jaisalmer, Karauli, Sirohi
14	Uttarakhand	2	Haridwar, Rudrapur (Distt. Udham Singh Nagar)
15	Uttar Pradesh	5	Bahraich, Fatehpur, Siddharthnagar (Domariyaganj), Chandauli, Sonbhadra
16	Tamil Nadu	2	Ramanathapuram, Virudhunagar