GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2705

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 14th DECEMBER, 2021/AGRAHAYANA 23,1943 (SAKA)

INCLUSION OF TULU LANGUAGE IN 8TH SCHEDULE

2705. SHRI RAJMOHAN UNNITHAN:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has planned to include Tulu in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution as Tulu is a Dravidian language whose speakers are concentrated in two coastal districts of Karnataka in South-Western India and in Kasaragod district of Kerala;

(b) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reason therefor;

(c) whether any proposals are pending with the Government to declare as Official language any other language other than Tulu, if not, the reason therefor; And

(d) if so, the details thereof along with the number of official languages in the country?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI NITYANAND RAI)

(a) & (b): There have been demands from time to time for inclusion of Tulu in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution. As the evolution of dialects and languages is a dynamic process, influenced by socio-cultural, economic and political developments, it is difficult to fix any criteria for languages, whether to distinguish them from dialects, or for inclusion in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution. The earlier attempts, through Pahwa (1996) and Sitakant Mohapatra (2003) Committees, to evolve such fixed criteria, have been inconclusive. The Government of India is conscious of the sentiments and requirements for inclusion of other languages in the Eighth Schedule. Such requests have to be considered keeping in mind these sentiments, and other relevant considerations. Since several of these languages are spoken in several States, their use is not restricted by State boundaries.

(c) & (d): No Sir. However, a Committee under the chairmanship of Dr. Sitakant Mohapatra recommended that status quo ante should continue in regard to the recognition of the languages in the Eighth Schedule as Official Languages of the Union. It is neither practical nor administratively feasible, at present, to increase the number of Official Languages.As per Article 343 (1) of the Constitution, the Official Language of the Union is Hindi in Devanagari script. However, as per Section 3 of the Official Languages Act, 1963, English language continues to be used as Official Language of the Union in addition to Hindi.

* * * * *