## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO – 2577 TO BE ANSWERED ON 14<sup>th</sup> DECEMBER, 2021

### **SEED RESEARCH CENTRES**

### 2577. SHRI RAJESH VERMA:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE & FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of Seed Research Centres set up in the country so far, State-wise;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to open new Seed Research Centres in the country including in a large State like Uttar Pradesh;
- (c) if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor?

### **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्री (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a). Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) has 41 Seed Research Centre in 25 States under the All India Coordinated Research Project (AICRP) on Seed (Crops) coordinated from Indian Institute of Seed Science, Mau (Uttar Pradesh). In addition 63 cooperating centres (28 states) are also operating in different Central/ State Agricultural Universities under ICAR Seed Projects for quality seed production. The details of State wise seed centre under AICRP on NSP (Crops) and ICAR Seed Project is at Annexure-I.

In addition to this, National Seed Research and Training Centre (NSRTC), Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh) under the Department of Agriculture and Farmers' Welfare is the apex centre already working as referral seed testing laboratory and to re-test the court referred seed samples under litigation. Besides also organises Human Resource Development (HRD) activities in respect of Seeds at national level.

(b) to (d). As of now no such proposal to set up Seed Research Centre in Uttar Pradesh is under consideration of Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers' Welfare, Govt. of India.

Details of State-wise Seed Centres under AICRP on NSP (Crops) and ICAR Seed Project:

Project:		
S. No.	State	Centre
1	Assam	1. Jorhat
2	Andhra Pradesh	1. Guntur
3	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	1. Port Blair
4	Bihar	2. Sabour and Pusa
5	Chhattisgarh	1. Raipur
6	Delhi	1. New Delhi
7	Goa	1. Goa
8	Gujarat	5. Anand, SK Nagar, Navsari and Junagadh (2)
9	Haryana	3. Hisar and Karnal (2)
10	Himachal Pradesh	1. Palampur
11	Jammu & Kashmir	2. Srinagar and Jammu
12	Jharkhand	1. Ranchi
13	Karnataka	4. Bangalore, Dharwad, Raichur and Shimogga
14	Kerala	1. Trissur
15	Madhya Pradesh	3. Jabalpur, Gwalior and Indore
16	Maharashtra	6. Parbhani, Rahuri, Akola, Dapoli, Pune and Nagpur
17	Manipur	2. Imphal and Manipur Centre
18	Meghalaya	1. Barapani
19	Odisha	2. Bhubaneswar and Cuttack
20	Punjab	2. Ludhiana
21	Puducherry	1. Karaikal
22	Rajasthan	6. Kota, Bikaner, Jobner, Udaipur, Jodhpur and Bharatpur
23	Telangana	4. Hyderabad
24	Tamil Nadu	2. Coimbatore
25	Tripura	1. Tripura Centre
26	Uttar Pradesh	8. Faizabad, Kanpur , Meerut, Varanasi, Mau, Jhansi, Lucknow and Kanpur
27	Uttarakhand	2. Pantnagar and Almora
28	West Bengal	3. Nadia, Pundibari and Barrackpore

\*\*\*\*