# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2253 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 10<sup>th</sup> DECEMBER, 2021

#### HUMAN RESOURCE IN MEDICAL SECTOR

#### 2253. SHRIMATI HEMA MALINI:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has taken adequate steps through the centrally sponsored schemes to create more human resources in medical sector and remove geographical disparity in the availability of medical care during the last five years;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government medical colleges are set up in all the districts of the country at present; and
- (d) if not, whether the Government is working on any action plan in this regard?

#### **ANSWER**

# THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

(a) to (d) To meet the shortage of human resource in health, the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) for 'Establishment of new Medical Colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals' where there are no existing Government or private medical college. Under the Scheme, 157 new medical colleges have been approved in three phases and 70 are already functional. The details are at Annexure.

In addition, Under Central Sector Scheme for setting up of new AIIMS, 22 AIIMS have been approved. Undergraduate courses have started in 18 AIIMS.

### **Annexure**

# Centrally Sponsored scheme for 'Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals'

## **Approved medical colleges**

Approved medical coneges					
Sl. No	State/UT	No. of colleges	Districts		
Phase-I (58)					
1	A & N Islands	1	Port Blair		
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	Naharlagun		
3	Assam	4	Dhubri, Nagaon, North Lakhimpur, Diphu		
4	Bihar	3	Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur		
5	Chhattisgarh	2	Rajnandgaon, Sarguja		
6	Himachal Pradesh	3	Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)		
7	Haryana	1	Bhiwani		
8	Jharkhand	3	Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)		
9	Jammu & Kashmir	5	Anantnag, Baramulla, Rajouri, Doda, Kathua		
10	Madhya Pradesh	7	Datia, Khandwa, Ratlam, Shahdol, Vidisha, Chindwara, Shivpuri		
11	Maharashtra	1	Gondia		
12	Meghalaya	1	West Garo Hills (Tura)		
13	Mizoram	1	Falkawn		
14	Nagaland	1	Naga Hospital (Kohima)		
15	Odisha	5	Balasore, Baripada (Mayurbhanj), Bolangir, Koraput, Puri		
16	Punjab	1	SAS Nagar		
17	Rajasthan	7	Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Churu, Dungarpur, Pali, Sikar		
18	Uttar Pradesh	5	Basti, Faizabad, Firozabad, Shahjahanpur, Bahraich		
19	Uttarakhand	1	Almora		
20	West Bengal	5	Birbhum (Rampur Hat), Cooch behar, Diamond harbour, Purulia, Raiganj (North Dinajpur)		
Phase –II (24)					
1	Bihar	5	Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Siwan, Buxar, Jamui		
2	Jharkhand	2	Koderma, Chaibasa (Singhbhum)		
3	Madhya Pradesh	1	Satna		
4	Odisha	1	Jajpur		
5	Rajasthan	1	Dholpur		
6	Uttar Pradesh	8	Etah, Hardoi, Pratapgarh, Fatehpur, Siddharthnagar (Domariyaganj), Deoria, Ghazipur, Mirzapur		
7	West Bengal	5	Barasat, Uluberia, Arambagh, Jhargram, Tamluk		
8	Sikkim	1	Gangtok		
	e-III (75)				
1	Andhra Pradesh	3	Piduguralla, Paderu, Machilipatnam		
2	Assam	1	Kokrajhar		
3	Chhattisgarh	3	Korba, Mahasamund, Kanker		
4	Gujarat	5	Narmada, Navsari, Panchmahal, Porbandar, Morbi		
5	Jammu & Kashmir	2	Udhampur, Handwara (Distt. Kupwara)		
6	Karnataka	4	Chikkamagaluru, Haveri, Yadgiri, Chikkaballapura		
7	Ladakh	1	Leh		
	•		•		

8	Madhya Pradesh	6	Rajgarh, Mandla, Neemuch, Mandsaur, Sheopur, Singrauli
9	Maharashtra	1	Nandurbar
10	Manipur	1	Churachandpur
11	Nagaland	1	Mon
12	Odisha	1	Kalahandi
13	Punjab	2	Kapurthala, Hoshiarpur
14	Rajasthan	15	Alwar, Baran, Bansawara, Chittorgarh, Jaisalmer, Karauli,
			Nagaur, Shri Ganganagar, Sirohi, Bundi, Sawai Madhopur,
			Tonk, Hanumangarh, Jhunjhunu, Dausa
15	Uttarakhand	3	Rudrapur (Distt. Udham Singh Nagar), Pithoragarh,
			Haridwar
16	Uttar Pradesh	14	Bijnaur, Kushinagar, Sultanpur, Gonda, Lalitpur,
			Lakhimpur Kheri, Chandauli, Bulandshahar, Sonbhadra,
			Pilibhit, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Kaushambi, Amethi
17	Tamil Nadu	11	Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Ramanathapuram, Namakkal, Dindigul,
			Virudhunagar, Krishnagiri, Tiruvallur, Nagapattinam,
			Ariyalur, Kallakurichi
18	West Bengal	1	Jalpaiguri