GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2107 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 10th DECEMBER, 2021

MEDICAL COLLEGE IN MAHENDRAGARH, HARYANA

2107. SHRI DHARAMBIR SINGH:

Will the Minister of HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to open new medical colleges across the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) whether the Government has announced to establish a medical college within the premises of Central University of Haryana, Mahendragarh in Haryana;
- (d) if so, the time by which the construction work is likely to start along with the budget sanctioned for the purpose; and
- (e) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

(a) & (b) The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme for 'Establishment of new Medical Colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals'. Under this scheme, Government of India has approved establishment of 157 new medical colleges in three phases. Out of these, 70 medical colleges have become functional till date. The details are at Annexure.

(c) to (e) Under Phase-III of the above Centrally Sponsored Scheme, all States/UTs were requested to submit proposals along with Detailed Project Report (DPR) for consideration by the Ministry. No such proposal was received from the State Government of Haryana.

Annexure

Centrally Sponsored scheme for 'Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals'

Sl. No	State/UT	No. of colleges	Districts		
Phase-I (58)					
1	A & N Islands	1	Port Blair		
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	Naharlagun		
3	Assam	4	Dhubri, Nagaon, North Lakhimpur, Diphu		
4	Bihar	3	Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur		
5	Chhattisgarh	2	Rajnandgaon, Sarguja		
6	Himachal Pradesh	3	Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)		
7	Haryana	1	Bhiwani		
8	Jharkhand	3	Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)		
9	Jammu & Kashmir	5	Anantnag, Baramulla, Rajouri, Doda, Kathua		
10	Madhya Pradesh	7	Datia, Khandwa, Ratlam, Shahdol, Vidisha, Chindwara, Shivpuri		
11	Maharashtra	1	Gondia		
12	Meghalaya	1	West Garo Hills (Tura)		
13	Mizoram	1	Falkawn		
14	Nagaland	1	Naga Hospital (Kohima)		
15	Odisha	5	Balasore, Baripada (Mayurbhanj), Bolangir, Koraput, Puri		
16	Punjab	1	SAS Nagar		
17	Rajasthan	7	Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Churu, Dungarpur, Pali, Sikar		
18	Uttar Pradesh	5	Basti, Faizabad, Firozabad, Shahjahanpur, Bahraich		
19	Uttarakhand	1	Almora		
20	West Bengal	5	Birbhum (Rampur Hat), Cooch behar, Diamond harbour, Purulia, Raiganj (North Dinajpur)		
Phase –II (24)					
1	Bihar	5	Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Siwan, Buxar, Jamui		
2	Jharkhand	2	Koderma, Chaibasa (Singhbhum)		
3	Madhya Pradesh	1	Satna		
4	Odisha	1	Jajpur		
5	Rajasthan	1	Dholpur		
6	Uttar Pradesh	8	Etah, Hardoi, Pratapgarh, Fatehpur, Siddharthnagar (Domariyaganj), Deoria, Ghazipur, Mirzapur		
7	West Bengal	5	Barasat, Uluberia, Arambagh, Jhargram, Tamluk		
8	Sikkim	1	Gangtok		
0			Phase-III (75)		
1	Andhra Pradesh	3	Piduguralla, Paderu, Machilipatnam		
2	Assam	1	Kokrajhar		
3	Chhattisgarh	3	Korba, Mahasamund, Kanker		
4	Gujarat	5	Narmada, Navsari, Panchmahal, Porbandar, Morbi		
5	Jammu & Kashmir	2	Udhampur, Handwara (Distt. Kupwara)		
6	Karnataka	4	Chikkamagaluru, Haveri, Yadgiri, Chikkaballapura		

Approved medical colleges

7	Ladakh	1	Leh
8	Madhya Pradesh	6	Rajgarh, Mandla, Neemuch, Mandsaur, Sheopur, Singrauli
9	Maharashtra	1	Nandurbar
10	Manipur	1	Churachandpur
11	Nagaland	1	Mon
12	Odisha	1	Kalahandi
13	Punjab	2	Kapurthala, Hoshiarpur
14	Rajasthan	15	Alwar, Baran, Bansawara, Chittorgarh, Jaisalmer, Karauli,
			Nagaur, Shri Ganganagar, Sirohi, Bundi, Sawai Madhopur,
			Tonk, Hanumangarh, Jhunjhunu, Dausa
15	Uttarakhand	3	Rudrapur (Distt. Udham Singh Nagar), Pithoragarh,
			Haridwar
16	Uttar Pradesh	14	Bijnaur, Kushinagar, Sultanpur, Gonda, Lalitpur,
			Lakhimpur Kheri, Chandauli, Bulandshahar, Sonbhadra,
			Pilibhit, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Kaushambi, Amethi
17	Tamil Nadu	11	Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Ramanathapuram, Namakkal, Dindigul,
			Virudhunagar, Krishnagiri, Tiruvallur, Nagapattinam,
			Ariyalur, Kallakurichi
18	West Bengal	1	Jalpaiguri