## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

# LOKSABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2088 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 10<sup>th</sup>DECEMBER. 2021

#### HEALTHCARE INFRASTRUCTURE

#### 2088. SHRI MANICKAM TAGORE B.:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that the Government is considering to launch mobile hospitals which can be transported by rail or air to any part of the country, if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Government is considering developing critical care hospital blocks in 602 districts and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government aims to set up 1,50,000 Ayushman Bharat Health and Wellness Centres and if so, the details and present status thereof; and
- (d) whether the Government has sanctioned 157 medical colleges to ensure that every district has at least one medical college; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

# ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

(a) Under PM Ayushman Bharat Health Infrastructure Mission (PM-ABHIM), it is envisaged to develop two self-contained Container Based Mobile Hospitals as a part of Strengthening Disaster and Epidemic Preparedness. These can be deployed at a short notice, during emergencies such as natural calamities or disasters and epidemic outbreaks, as per the needs of the country.

- (b) Government of India is developing critical care hospital blocks in 602 districts under PM Ayushman Bharat Health Infrastructure Mission (PM-ABHIM). Government of India has launched PM-ABHIM with an outlay of Rs. 64,180 crores till 2025-26 envisages increased investments in public health and other health reforms to safeguard against future public health emergencies by focusing in health infrastructure.
- (c) Government of India aims to set up 1,50,000 Ayushman Bharat Health and Wellness Centres (AB-HWCs) by December 2022, as the platform to deliver Comprehensive Primary Health Care (CPHC) closer to the home. Under Ayushman Bharat, the existing Sub-health Centres (SHCs) and Primary Health Centres (PHCs) are being transformed into AB-HWCs to deliver Comprehensive Primary Health Care (CPHC) that includes preventive, promotive, curative, palliative and rehabilitative services which is universal, free and close to the community. As per HWC Portal, total of 80,545 nos. of AB-HWC (including 54,507 SHC-HWC, 21,830 PHC-HWC and 4208 UPHC-HWC) are operationalised as on 2<sup>nd</sup>December 2021.
- (d) & (e) Ministry of Health and Family Welfare administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme for 'Establishment of New Medical Colleges Attached with Existing District/Referral Hospitals'. Under this scheme, 157 new medical colleges have been sanctioned in three phases. Out of these, 70 medical colleges have become functional. State-wise details of approved 157 new medical colleges are placed at Annexure.

### **Annexure**

## State-wise details of approved 157 new medical colleges

SI. No.	State/UT	No. of	Districts		
		colleges	Districts		
Phase-I (58)					
1	A & N Islands	1	Port Blair		
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	Naharlagun		
3	Assam	4	Dhubri, Nagaon, North Lakhimpur, Diphu		
4	Bihar	3	Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur		
5	Chhattisgarh	2	Rajnandgaon, Sarguja		
6	Himachal Pradesh	3	Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)		
7	Haryana	1	Bhiwani		
8	Jharkhand	3	Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)		
9	Jammu & Kashmir	5	Anantnag, Baramulla, Rajouri, Doda, Kathua		
10	Madhya Pradesh	7	Datia, Khandwa, Ratlam, Shahdol, Vidisha, Chindwara, Shivpuri		
11	Maharashtra	1	Gondia		
12	Meghalaya	1	West Garo Hills (Tura)		
13	Mizoram	1	Falkawn		
14	Nagaland	1	Naga Hospital (Kohima)		
15	Odisha	5	Balasore, Baripada (Mayurbhanj), Bolangir, Koraput, Puri		
16	Punjab	1	SAS Nagar		
17	Rajasthan	7	Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Churu, Dungarpur, Pali, Sikar		
18	Uttar Pradesh	5	Basti, Faizabad, Firozabad, Shahjahanpur, Bahraich		
19	Uttarakhand	1	Almora		
20	West Bengal	5	Birbhum (Rampur Hat), Cooch behar, Diamond harbour, Purulia, Raiganj (North Dinajpur)		
Phase -	Phase –II (24)				
1	Bihar	5	Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Siwan, Buxar, Jamui		
2	Jharkhand	2	Koderma, Chaibasa (Singhbhum)		
	Madhya Pradesh	1	Satna		
4	Odisha	1	Jajpur		
5	Rajasthan	1	Dholpur		
6	Uttar Pradesh	8	Etah, Hardoi, Pratapgarh, Fatehpur, Siddharthnagar (Domariyaganj), Deoria,		

			Ghazipur, Mirzapur
7	West Bengal	5	Barasat, Uluberia, Arambagh, Jhargram, Tamluk
8	Sikkim	1	Gangtok
Phase	e-III (75)	•	
1	Andhra Pradesh	3	Piduguralla, Paderu, Machilipatnam
2	Assam	1	Kokrajhar
3	Chhattisgarh	3	Korba, Mahasamund, Kanker
4	Gujarat	5	Narmada, Navsari, Panchmahal, Porbandar, Morbi
5	Jammu & Kashmir	2	Udhampur, Handwara (Distt. Kupwara)
6	Karnataka	4	Chikkamagaluru, Haveri, Yadgiri, Chikkaballapura
7	Ladakh	1	Leh
8	Madhya Pradesh	6	Rajgarh, Mandla, Neemuch, Mandsaur, Sheopur, Singrauli
9	Maharashtra	1	Nandurbar
10	Manipur	1	Churachandpur
11	Nagaland	1	Mon
12	Odisha	1	Kalahandi
13	Punjab	2	Kapurthala, Hoshiarpur
14	Rajasthan	15	Alwar, Baran, Bansawara, Chittorgarh, Jaisalmer, Karauli, Nagaur, ShriGanganagar, Sirohi, Bundi, SawaiMadhopur, Tonk, Hanumangarh, Jhunjhunu, Dausa
15	Uttarakhand	3	Rudrapur (Distt. Udham Singh Nagar), Pithoragarh, Haridwar
16	Uttar Pradesh	14	Bijnaur, Kushinagar, Sultanpur, Gonda, Lalitpur, LakhimpurKheri, Chandauli, Bulandshahar, Sonbhadra, Pilibhit, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Kaushambi, Amethi
17	Tamil Nadu  West Bengal	11	Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Ramanathapuram, Namakkal, Dindigul, Virudhunagar, Krishnagiri, Tiruvallur, Nagapattinam, Ariyalur, Kallakurichi
10	lvvesi perigai	I	Jalpaiguri