#### LOK SABHA

## UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 2054

### TO BE ANSWERED ON 9<sup>th</sup> December, 2021

#### **City Gas Distribution Network**

2054. SHRI DIPSINH SHANKARSINH RATHOD: SHRI MOHANBHAI KALYANJI KUNDARIYA:

पेट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of cases pending in various courts across the country against operators for declaring City Gas Distribution (CGD) Networks as Common Carrier of Geographical Areas (GAs) where the marketing exclusivity has expired, operator and State-wise;
- (b) the particulars of GAs where the marketing exclusivity has expired, date-wise;
- (c) whether the Government is aware of the monopoly pricing of gas being supplied through the CGD network which is hampering the end-users; and
- (d) whether any mechanism has been worked out for the speedy disposal of pending cases and if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

# पेट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (श्री रामेश्वर तेली)

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI RAMESWAR TELI)

- (a) There is no case pending in any court across the country against the operators for declaring City Gas Distribution (CGD) Networks as Common Carrier.
- (b) The list of Geographical Areas (GAs) where period of exclusivity, from purview of common carrier/contract carrier, as mentioned in the authorization given by PNGRB, has been completed is at **Annexure**.
- (c) Government of India has allocated domestic gas to various City Gas Distribution (CGD) entities for CNG (Transport) and PNG (Domestic) purpose. However, retail price of CNG/PNG is determined by CGD entities after considering state taxes, tariff and other components.
- (d) Does not arise in view of reply of part (a) above.

\*\*\*\*

# ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2054 TO BE ANSWERED ON 09.12.2021 REGARDING CITY GAS DISTRIBUTION NETWORK.

## **City Gas Distribution Network**

S. No.	Geographical Area (GA)	State/Union Territories	Authorized Entity	Date of Authorization	End of exclusivity (DD-MM-YYYY)	Remarks
1	Dewas	Madhya Pradesh	GAIL Gas Limited	1-Jun-09	31-May-14	
2	Kota	Rajasthan	Rajasthan State Gas Limited	1-Jun-09	31-May-14	
3	Mathura	Uttar Pradesh	Sanwariya Gas Limited	11-Jun-09	10-Jun-14	
4	Kakinada	Andhra Pradesh	Bhagyanagar Gas Limited	12-Jun-09	11-Jun-14	
5	Sonipat	Haryana	GAIL Gas Limited	12-Jun-09	11-Jun-14	
6	Meerut	Uttar Pradesh	GAIL Gas Limited	12-Jun-09	11-Jun-14	
7	Chandigarh	Chandigarh, Haryana, Punjab & Himachal Pradesh	IndianOil-Adani Gas Private Limited	8-May-13	7-May-18	
8	Allahabad	Uttar Pradesh	IndianOil-Adani Gas Private Limited	8-May-13	7-May-18	
9	Jhansi	Uttar Pradesh	Central UP Gas Limited	26-Feb-14	25-Feb-19	
10	Jalandhar	Punjab	Jay Madhok Energy Private Limited	6-Sep-13	5-Sep-18	
11	Bhavnagar	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	5-Mar-14	4-Mar-19	
12	Jamnagar	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	17-Jan-14	16-Jan-19	
13	Kutch West	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	19-Dec-14	18-Dec-19	
14	Bengaluru Rural and Urban Districts	Karnataka	GAIL Gas Limited	18-Feb-15	17-Feb-20	
15	Panipat District	Haryana	IndianOil-Adani Gas Private Limited	1-Apr-15	7-Aug-20	
16	Palghar District and Thane Rural	Maharashtra	Gujarat Gas Limited	1-Apr-15	7-Dec-20	
17	Raigarh District (excluding areas already authorized)	Maharashtra	Mahanagar Gas Limited	1-Apr-15	7-Dec-20	
18	UT of Dadra & Nagar Haveli	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	Gujarat Gas Limited	1-Apr-15	7-Aug-20	
19	UT of Daman	Daman and Diu	IndianOil-Adani Gas Private Limited	1-Apr-15	7-Aug-20	
20	Amritsar District	Punjab	Gujarat State Petronet Limited	5-May-15	6-Nov-20	
21	Pune District (excluding areas already authorized)	Maharashtra	Torrent Gas Pune Limited	18-May-15	8-Mar-21	
22	Ernakulam District	Kerala	IndianOil-Adani Gas Private Limited	14-Oct-15	8-Sep-21	

23	Udham Singh Nagar District	Uttrakhand	IndianOil-Adani Gas Private Limited	28-Jul-15	13-Feb-21	
24	Haridwar District	Uttrakhand	Haridwar Natural Gas Private Limited	27-Jul-15	6-Feb-21	
25	East Godavari District (EAAA)	Andhra Pradesh	Godavari Gas Private Limited	14-Aug-15	6-Feb-21	
26	West Godavari District	Andhra Pradesh	Godavari Gas Private Limited	14-Aug-15	6-Feb-21	
27	Tumkur District	Karnataka	Megha Engineering & Infrastructure Limited	14-Aug-15	6-Feb-21	
28	Krishna District (EAAA)	Andhra Pradesh	Megha Engineering & Infrastructure Limited	14-Sep-15	6-Feb-21	
29	Dharwad District	Karnataka	IndianOil-Adani Gas Private Limited	14-Sep-15	6-Feb-21	
30	Belgaum District	Karnataka	Megha Engineering & Infrastructure Limited	14-Sep-15	6-Feb-21	
31	Bhatinda District	Punjab	Gujarat Gas Limited	10-May-16	6-Nov-21	
32	Saharanpur District	Uttar Pradesh	Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited	11-May-16	6-Nov-21	
33	Amreli District	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	27-May-16	6-Nov-21	
34	Patan District	Gujarat	Sabarmati Gas Limited	27-May-16	6-Nov-21	
35	DahejVagra Taluka	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	6-Jun-16	6-Nov-21	
36	Rupnagar District	Punjab	Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited	10-Jun-16	6-Nov-21	
37	North Goa District	Goa	Goa Natural Gas Private Limited	24-Jun-16	6-Nov-21	
38	Dahod District	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	27-Jun-16	6-Nov-21	
39	Banaskantha District	Gujarat	IRM Energy Private Limited	1-Jul-16	6-Nov-21	
40	Khurja	Uttar Pradesh	Adani Total Gas Limited	4-Dec-12	3-Dec-17	
41	Surat, Bharuch, Ankleshwar	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	8-Nov-12	7-Nov-15	
42	Moradabad	Uttar Pradesh	Torrent Gas Moradabad Limited	30-Nov-12	29-Nov-17	
43	Nadiad	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	1-Oct-13	30-Sep-18	
44	Navsari	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	1-Oct-13	30-Sep-18	
45	Rajkot	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	1-Oct-13	30-Sep-18	
46	Surendranag ar	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	1-Oct-13	30-Sep-18	
47	Ahmedabad City and Daskroi Area	Gujarat	Adani Total Gas Limited	28-Nov-13	27-Nov-16	
48	Hazira	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	17-Jul-14	16-Jul-17	
49	Valsad	Gujarat	Gujarat Gas Limited	20-Jan-15	7-Aug-20	
50	Anand area including Kanjari&Vadta l Villages (in Kheda District)	Gujarat	Charotar Gas SahakariMandali Limited	12-May-15	12-May-15	No exclusivity was granted as per the authorization
51	NCT of Delhi	Delhi	Indraprastha Gas Limited	9-Jan-09	8-Jan-12	

52	Mumbai & Greater Mumbai	Maharashtra	Mahanagar Gas Limited	21-Jan-09	20-Jan-12	
53	Bareilly	Uttar Pradesh	Central UP Gas Limited	22-Apr-09	21-Apr-14	
54	Kanpur	Uttar Pradesh	Central UP Gas Limited	22-Apr-09	21-Apr-14	
55	Pune City including Pimpri- Chiechwad& adjoining contiguous areas Hinjewadi, Chakan, Talegaon	Maharashtra	Mahrashtra Natural Gas Limited	1-Jun-09	31-May-14	
56	Vijaywada	Andhra Pradesh	Bhagyanagar Gas Limited	28-Jul-09	27-Jul-14	
57	Thane Urban and adjoining municipalities	Maharashtra	Mahanagar Gas Limited	4-Aug-09	3-Aug-14	
58	Indore (including Ujjain City)	Madhya Pradesh	Aavantika Gas Limited	31-Aug-09	30-Aug-14	
59	Hyderabad	Telangana	Bhagyanagar Gas Limited	9-Oct-09	8-Oct-14	
60	Agra	Uttar Pradesh	Green Gas Limited	12-Nov-09	11-Nov-14	
61	Gandhinagar , Mehsana, Sabarkantha	Gujarat	Sabarmati Gas Limited	16-Dec-09	15-Dec-14	
62	Gwalior	Madhya Pradesh	Aavantika Gas Limited	4-Jan-10	3-Jan-15	
63	Firozabad (Taj Trapezium Zone)	Uttar Pradesh & Rajasthan	GAIL Gas Limited	26-Sep-11	25-Sep-14	
64	Upper Assam	Assam	Assam Gas Company Limited	6-Feb-15	6-Feb-15	No exclusivity was granted as per the authorization
65	Agartala	Tripura	Tripura Natural Gas Company Limited	24-Feb-15	24-Feb-15	No exclusivity was granted as per the authorization
66	Lucknow	Uttar Pradesh	Green Gas Limited	15-Mar-16	7-Aug-21	
67	Vadodara	Gujarat	Vadodara Gas Limited	28-Oct-16	27-Oct-19	