GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. *269

ANSWERED ON 16.12.2021

FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO STUDENTS OF MINORITY COMMUNITIES

*269. SHRIMATI CHINTA ANURADHA:

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to provide financial assistance to students of minority communities apart from scholarships for higher education;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (c) the steps taken by the Government to encourage higher education among minority students?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

(a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

Statement referred to in reply to parts (a) to (c) of Lok Sabha Starred Question No. *269 asked by Shrimati Chinta Anuradha regarding "Financial Assistance to Students of Minority Communities".

(a) to (b): The Ministry implements three Scholarship Schemes for educational empowerment of minorities (Buddhists, Christians, Jains, Muslims, Parsis and Sikhs) viz; Pre-Matric (for Class I to X out of which 30% scholarships are earmarked for girls), Post Matric (Class XI to Ph.D out of which 30% scholarships are earmarked for girls) and Merit-cum-Means based Scholarship Schemes (for Technical and Professional Courses at under graduate and post graduate levels out of which 30% scholarships are earmarked for girls). The Maulana Azad Education Foundation (MAEF) under the Ministry of Minority Affairs also implements the Begum Hazrat Mahal National Scholarship Scheme (BHMNS) for meritorious girl students, belonging to the six notified minority communities, for classes IX-XII. Since 2014-15, more than 5.1 crore* scholarships have been provided through National Scholarship portal (NSP) and Direct Benefit Transfer(DBT) out of which more than 52% beneficiaries are female.

Apart from Scholarship Schemes the Government also provides financial assistance to meritorious students from the economically weaker sections of the notified minority communities under the following schemes:

- i. Maulana Azad National Fellowship (MANF) Scheme- the Scheme provides Fellowship to minority community students pursuing full time M. Phil and PhD courses in Universities/Institutions within India. The University Grants Commission (UGC) is the nodal agency for implementing the Scheme and qualifying the NET-JRF of the UGC or the UGC-CSIR joint test is a prerequisite for award of the Fellowship under the Scheme. 30% fellowships are earmarked for girl students. The rate of Fellowship is at par with the rate of Fellowship awarded by the UGC for Junior Research Fellows (JRF) and Senior Research Fellows (SRF).
- ii. Padho Pardesh Scheme– The Scheme provides interest subsidy to meritorious students belonging to economically weaker sections of notified minority communities on the interest payable for the period of moratorium (i.e. course period, plus one year or six months after getting job, whichever is earlier) for the Educational Loans for overseas studies to pursue approved courses of studies abroad at Masters and M.Phil/Ph.D levels. 35% seats are earmarked for girl students and Canara Bank is the designated nodal bank for implementing the Scheme.
- iii. National Minorities Development & Finance Corporation (NMDFC), a Public Sector Undertaking under the Ministry of Minority Affairs, provides education loan to students from economically weaker sections of the notified minority communities for pursuing technical and professional courses with maximum course duration of 5 years. Under this scheme, loan of up to ₹ 20.00 lakh is provided for courses in India and up to ₹ 30.00 lakh for courses abroad. The scheme is implemented through the State Channelizing Agencies (SCAs) nominated by the respective State Governments/UT Administration.

(c) Apart from the above, Government also provides financial support for free coaching to notified minority students in selected coaching institutions, under the Naya Savera Scheme, for entrance examinations like JEE, NEET, CLAT, CAT, MAT, etc., for admission in engineering/medical/law/management courses and any other such disciplines as the Government may decide from time to time.

^{*}The figure also includes the beneficiaries who would avail the scholarship for the year 2021-22 for which the budget has been allocated.