## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FINANCE DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AFFAIRS

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 979

TO BE ANSWERED ON MONDAY, JULY 26, 2021/ SRAVANA 4, 1943 (Saka)

#### NORMS FOR EASE OF DOING BUSINESS

979. SHRI SUDHEER GUPTA:
SHRI SANJAY SADASHIVRAO MANDLIK:
SHRI CHANDRA SEKHAR SAHU:
SHRI PRATAPRAO JADHAV:
SHRI BIDYUT BARAN MAHATO:
SHRI SHRIRANG APPA BARNE:
SHRI SUBRAT PATHAK:

#### Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has fixed any norms for Ease of Doing Business in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the names of such States who have completed various such norms so far;
- (c) whether the Union Government has given permission for borrowing to the States who have completed such norms and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the details of employment opportunities in various such states increased after getting additional borrowing permission so far?

# ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE (FINANCE) (SHRI PANKAJ CHAUDHARY)

#### (a) Yes sir;

(b), (c) & (d) In order to strengthen resources in the hands of State Governments in the wake of unprecedented COVID-19 pandemic, Government addressed to all the States, laid out an additional borrowing of 0.25% for each reform of the Gross State Domestic Product (GSDP) to the States for FY 2020-21 subject to implementation of following specific state level reforms: (i) Implementation of One Nation One Ration Card System; (ii) Ease of Doing Business reform; (iii) Urban Local body/ utility reforms and (iv) Power Sector reforms. Twenty States were allowed additional borrowing of ₹ 39,521 crore during 2020-21 for implementation of Ease of Doing Business (EODB) reform. EODB is a continuous process and its outcome would be visible in due course. State lists those who have completely implemented the reform on EODB are annexed as **Annexure-A**.

### Annexure-A

S. No.	State /UT	Status on Implementation of EODB Reforms
1	Andhra Pradesh	Fully Implemented.
2	Karnataka	
3	Madhya Pradesh	
4	Tamil Nadu	
5	Telangana	
6	Rajasthan	
7	Kerala	
8	Odisha	
9	Himachal Pradesh	
10	Haryana	
11	Assam	
12	Gujarat	
13	Punjab	
14	Arunachal Pradesh	
15	Uttar Pradesh	
16	Uttarakhand	
17	Meghalaya	
18	Chhattisgarh	
19	Tripura	
20	Goa	

\*\*\*\*