## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 89 TO BE ANSWERED ON 19th July, 2021

### Samagra Shiksha

†89. SHRI SUMEDHANAND SARASWATI: SHRI BALAK NATH:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the 'Samagra Shiksha' scheme being run by the Government;
- (b) the status of the benefits provided under the scheme in Rajasthan and Haryana; and
- (c) the total number of districts focussed under the Samagra Shiksha Scheme in Rajasthan and in Haryana during the last three years along with the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

#### MINISTER OF EDUCATION

(SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

(a) and (b): Samagra Shiksha - an Integrated Scheme for School Education was launched throughout the country as a Centrally Sponsored Scheme with effect from the year 2018-19. It is an overarching programme for the school education sector extending from pre-school to class XII and aims to ensure inclusive and equitable quality education at all levels of school education.

The major interventions under the scheme are: (i) Universal Access including Infrastructure Development and Retention; (ii) Gender and Equity; (iii) Inclusive Education; (iv)Quality; (v) Financial support for Teacher Salary; (vi) Digital initiatives; (vii) Entitlements under the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (RTE) Act, 2009 including uniforms, textbooks etc.;(viii) Pre-school Education; (ix) Vocational Education; (x) Sports and Physical Education; (xi) Strengthening of Teacher Education and Training.

(c): All the States and UTs including all 33 districts of Rajasthan and 22 districts of Haryana are covered under the Samagra Shiksha scheme. An expenditure of Rs. 3617.823 crore, 3733.493 crore and 4258.738 crore has been incurred under Samagra Shiksha in Rajasthan for years 2018-19, 2019-20 and 2020-21 respectively. An expenditure of Rs. 743.615 crore, 1086.149 crore and 1222.988 crore has been incurred under Samagra Shiksha in Haryana for years 2018-19, 2019-20 and 2020-21 respectively.

\*\*\*\*