### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4 TO BE ANSWERED ON 19<sup>th</sup> JULY, 2021

## **Model Degree Colleges**

**†**4. SHRI DEVJI M.PATEL:

SHRI RANJEETSINGH HINDURAO NAIK NIMBALKAR: SHRI JASWANT SINGH BHABHOR:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

(a) refer to the reply given to the unstarred question number 1629 dated 02.03.2020 and State whether central assistance has been given to States for setting up model degree colleges to improve the standard of higher education in aspirational districts;

(b) if so, the State-wise details thereof;

(c) the details of the budget allocated for basic infrastructure of these degree college especially from technology point of view;

(d) whether the construction work of Model Degree College in Sirohi district, Rajasthan/Satara and Solapur district, Maharashtra and Dahod district of Gujarat could not be commenced in the absence of budgetary allocations due to the lack of budget and if so, the time by which these Model Degree Colleges are likely be ready in the said places and whether any time frame has been fixed for it?

## ANSWER

# MINISTER OF EDUCATION

# (SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

(a) & (b): Under the erstwhile scheme of setting up of Model Degree College (MDC) in 374 Educationally Backward Districts (EBDs), University Grants Commission had approved assistance to 64 Model Degree Colleges. The Centrally Sponsored Scheme of Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA), which subsumed the above mentioned erstwhile scheme has further approved central support to 130 Model Degree Colleges in unserved and underserved areas such as EBDs, aspirational districts etc. The State-wise details are annexed. (c) The unit cost for one Model Degree College approved under the scheme of RUSA is Rs. 12.00 crore. This includes both Central Share and State Share as per the funding pattern applicable to the State/UT under the scheme. The funds can be utilised for setting up of MDCs which includes construction of required infrastructural facilities such as classrooms, hostels, laboratories etc and also includes purchasing of necessary equipments such as computers, lab equipments, etc.

(d) An amount of Rs. 5.40 crores has been released by the Ministry as 1<sup>st</sup> and 2nd instalments of Central Share for the Government College, Reodar, Sirohi, Rajasthan under the scheme of RUSA. As per information received from the State, construction work was started on 14.03.2019 and the construction of Academic Block, Library, Seminar Room etc are complete and the college is functional.

No MDC has been approved under RUSA for Satara and Solapur districts in Maharashtra.

Under the erstwhile scheme of UGC for setting up of MDCs, two MDCs were approved by UGC for the district of Dahod. Out of the Central share of Rs. 2.67 crores Government Science College, Zalod, Dahod has been released Rs. 2.39 crores. As per information received from the State, the construction of the college building has been completed. Government Arts College, Dhanpur, Dahod has been released Rs. 1.33 crores as Central Share. As per information received from the State, the tender process for the same is under process.

\*\*\*\*

Annexure referred to in parts (a) & (b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 4 to be answered on 19<sup>th</sup> July, 2021 regarding Model Degree Colleges asked by Shri Devji M.Patel, Shri Ranjeetsingh Hindurao Naik Nimbalkar, Shri Jaswant Singh Bhabhor, Hon'ble MP

State-wise details of Model Degree Colleges approved under erstwhile scheme of setting up of Model Degree College (MDC) in 374 Educationally Backward Districts (EBDs) by University Grants Commission and under the Centrally Sponsored Scheme of Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA)

Name of State/ UT	Units approved by UGC under the erstwhile scheme of Model Degree Colleges	Units approved under RUSA
Andhra Pradesh	-	8
Arunachal Pradesh	6	2
Assam	12	5
Bihar	-	4
Chhattisgarh	-	11
Gujarat	19	-
Haryana	-	1
Himachal Pradesh	-	2
Jammu & Kashmir	8	3
Jharkhand	-	10
Karnataka	-	2
Kerala	-	1
Madhya Pradesh	-	10
Maharashtra	7	2
Meghalaya	-	2
Nagaland	-	2
Odisha	-	14
Punjab	11	3
Rajasthan	-	5
Sikkim	-	2
Telangana	-	7
Tripura	-	4
Uttar Pradesh	-	26
Uttarakhand	-	3
Andaman and Nicobar Islands	-	1
Dadra & Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu	1	-
TOTAL	64	130