GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3572 ANSWERED ON 10/08/2021

DISHA GUIDELINES

3572. DR. ALOK KUMAR SUMAN:

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has provided clear guidelines of the District Development Coordination and Monitoring Committee (DISHA) about the members who are eligible to participate and who are not in the DISHA meetings, if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Chairperson of DISHA has the power to debar any member permanently on the ground of misconduct in the meeting;
- (c) whether a member of Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council of the concerned district are eligible to participate in meetings in any districts of States, if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether a Member nominated by the Governor to the Legislative Council is eligible to participate in DISHA meetings in any districts of States, if so, the reasons therefor; and
- (e) whether a Member nominated by the Governor to the Legislative Council, is a Minister, eligible to participate in the DISHA meeting in any districts of States, if so, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SADHVI NIRANJAN JYOTI)

(a) Para 3 of guidelines of the District Development Coordination and Monitoring Committee (DISHA) clearly specifies the composition of the DISHA Committee and all members of the DISHA Committee are supposed to attend the meetings of the Committee. The composition of the District Development Coordination and Monitoring Committee (DISHA) is at **Annexure-I.**

(b) No, Sir. No such power has been assigned to Chairperson of DISHA.

(c) to (e) As per DISHA guidelines, all members of the State Legislative Assembly elected from the district are members of the DISHA Committee of the District and hence, supposed to participate in the meetings of that particular district. There is no provision in DISHA guidelines for nominating members of Legislative Council as members in DISHA Committee of the district.

Annexure referred to reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha USQ No. 3572 for 10.08.2021

Composition of District Level DISHA Committee:

1. Chairperson: The Chairperson of the DISHA should be a Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) elected from the district.

2. Co-Chairperson:

- (a) The other Members of Parliament (Lok Sabha) representing the district should be designated as Co-Chairpersons.
- (b) **Rajya Sabha MP**: One MP (Rajya Sabha) representing the State and exercising option to be associated with the district level Committee of that district (on first come basis), to be designated as Co-Chairpersons by the Ministry of Rural Development.
- **3. Member Secretary:** The Member Secretary of the DISHA should be the District Collector / District Magistrate/ Deputy Commissioner.
- 4. **Members:** The other Members of the Committee should be as follows:
- (i) All Members of the State Legislative Assembly elected from the district.
- (ii) One representative of the State Government / UT Administration.
- (iii) All Mayors / the Chairpersons of Municipalities (inclusive of at least one woman) and five elected heads of Gram Panchayat (inclusive of two women) to be nominated by the Chairperson and the other Members of Parliament in the Committee.
- (iv) Chairperson of the Zila Panchayat.
- (v) Head of the Autonomous District Council in districts having Schedule VI Areas.
- (vi) All Chairpersons of Intermediate Panchayats in the district.
- (vii) Chief Executive Officer of the Zila Panchayat.
- (viii) Project Director, DRDA/Poverty Alleviation Unit.
- (ix) Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India may nominate up to 4 members.
- (x) One Member from a reputed NGO, to be nominated by the Chairperson and the other Members of Parliament in the Committee.
- (xi) One representative each of SC, ST and Women to be nominated by the Chairperson and the other Members of Parliament in the Committee.
- (xii) Lead Bank officer of the district.
- (xiii) Senior Superintendent/ Superintendent of the Postal Department.
- (xiv) District level nodal functionaries of all Programmes that will be under the purview of DISHA.