# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FISHERIES, ANIMAL HUSBANDRY & DAIRYING DEPARTMENT OF FISHERIES

#### **LOK SABHA**

UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 321 TO BE ANSWERED ON 20<sup>th</sup> JULY, 2021

## **Promotion of Seaweed Cultivation**

#### 321: SHRIMATI KANIMOZHI KARUNANIDHI AND SHRI KHAGEN MURMU:

Will the Minister of FISHERIES, ANIMAL HUSBANDRY AND DAIRYING मत्स्यपालन, पश्पालन और डेयरी मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is true that currently, seaweed production in India is primarily confined to the Gulf of Mannar and Palk Bay in Tamil Nadu;
- (b) whether the Government has initiated the implementation of Multi-purpose Seaweed Park in the State of Tamil Nadu, as proposed in the union budget 2021-22; and
- (c) if so, the steps taken by the Government to encourage seaweed cultivation at a large scale across several coastal States in the country keeping in mind that seaweed farming has minimum capital, technological requirements and provides important economic opportunities to marginal coastal communities with limited livelihood options; and
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor?

#### **ANSWER**

### THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR FISHERIES, ANIMAL HUSBANDRY & DAIRYING:

(DR. L. MURUGAN)

- (a) Seaweed production has been presently undertaken in Gulf of Mannar and Palk Bay in Tamil Nadu. However, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andaman & Nicobar Islands and Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu have also initiated steps for seaweed cultivation.
- (b) Yes, Sir.
- (c) Projects to the tune of Rs.349.68 lakh were approved during 2015-19 to Governments of Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Andaman and Nicobar Administration for seaweed development under the erstwhile Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) Blue Revolution: Integrated Development and Management of Fisheries Scheme. Besides, projects to the tune of Rs.2477.76 lakh has also been approved for seaweed development under Pradhan Mantri Matsya Sampada Yojana (PMMSY) to Governments of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu and Union Territory Administrations of Andaman & Nicobar Islands as well as Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu during 2020-21.
- (d) Does not arise.