GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3031

TO BE ANSWERED ON 6 AUGUST 2021

FREE TREATMENT OF POOR IN PRIVATE HOSPITALS

3031 SHRI SANJAY BHATIA:

SHRI MITESH RAMESHBHAI PATEL (BAKABHAI):

SHRIMATI SUNITA DUGGAL:

SHRIMATI SHARDABEN ANILBHAI PATEL:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- a) whether there is provision of 25 percent reservation for free treatment of the poor in OPDs of private hospitals as per the existing norms;
- b) if so, the details thereof;
- c) the details of the system framed by the Government to ensure or verify the implementation of the above provision by the private hospitals;
- d) whether there is any provision for cancellation of license of private hospitals in case of violation of the provisions or norms prescribed by the Government; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof along with the punitive action taken against the erring hospital, State/UT-wise?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

(DR. BHARATI PRAVIN PAWAR)

a) to e) Health is a State subject. It is for the State/Union Territory (UT) Government to make and enforce such norms that provide for reservation for free treatment of the poor in Out Patient Departments (OPDs) of private hospitals.

Further, the Clinical Establishments (Registration and Regulation) Act, 2010 (CE Act, 2010), provides for registration of hospitals located in the States/ UTs, wherever the said Act is applicable. For purposes of registration, the hospitals are required to comply with minimum standards of facilities and services, as approved by the National Council for Clinical Establishments (NCCE). These minimum standards also include the need to comply with legal requirements of local/State health authorities. The CE Act, 2010 provides for cancellation of registration of hospitals, if the conditions of the registration are not complied with.

The Clinical Establishments Act, 2010 as on date is applicable in 11 States namely Sikkim, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand, Bihar, Jharkhand, Rajasthan, Assam and Haryana and all UTs except Delhi and Ladakh.