GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2741 TO BE ANSWERED ON 4TH AUGUST, 2021

MOBILE AND LANDLINE CONNECTIVITY IN MADHYA PRADESH

†2741. SHRI JANARDAN MISHRA:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) the details and the number of villages in Madhya Pradesh which have no mobile and landline connectivity as of now;

(b) whether the Government is making any efforts to provide this connectivity in such villages; and

(c) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI DEVUSINH CHAUHAN)

(a) As per data provided by Telecom Service Providers (TSPs) and field units of Department of Telecommunications, it is estimated that out of 51929 inhabited villages (as per Census-2011) in the state of Madhya Pradesh, 2612 villages have no telecom connectivity. District wise details are given in **Annexure-I**.

(b) & (c) The uncovered villages are being covered in phases by the TSPs and under various schemes of Universal Service Obligation Fund (USOF). In Madhya Pradesh, 228 villages are already being covered under existing USOF schemes.

Annexure referred to in reply of para (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2741 to be answered on 04th August, 2021 raised by Hon'ble Members of Parliament regarding "Mobile and Landline Connectivity in Madhya Pradesh"

District wise list of Villages with no telecom Connectivity in the state of Madhya Pradesh			
Sr. No.	District Name*	Total No of inhabited villages as per	No. of Uncovered villages as on
		Census 2011	December 2020
1	Alirajpur	538	62
2	Anuppur	562	34
3	Ashoknagar	818	24
4	Balaghat	1272	125
5	Barwani	696	71
6	Betul	1344	210
7	Bhind	890	3
8	Bhopal	501	13
9	Burhanpur	261	24
10	Chhatarpur	1085	57
11	Chhindwara	1906	183
12	Damoh	1176	81
13	Datia	586	3
14	Dewas	1057	25
15	Dhar	1477	43
16	Dindori	901	176
17	Guna	1264	59
18	Gwalior	618	18
19	Harda	511	52
20	Hoshangabad	921	81
20	Indore	614	8
21	Jabalpur	1377	20
	Jabaipur Jhabua	783	
23	Katni		3
24		905	12
25	Khandwa (East Nimar)	711	36
26	Khargone (West Nimar)	1194	54
27	Mandla	1203	115
28	Mandsaur	893	6
29	Morena	775	21
30	Narsimhapur	1035	38
31	Neemuch	675	33
32	Panna	947	92
33	Raisen	1424	66
34	Rajgarh	1677	18
35	Ratlam	1053	32
36	Rewa	2408	18
37	Sagar	1901	64
38	Satna	1799	51
39	Sehore	1031	33
40	Seoni	1579	89
41	Shahdol	814	48
42	Shajapur(Including Agar Malwa)	1071	4
43	Sheopur	516	71
44	Shivpuri	1305	71
45	Sidhi	1025	83
46	Singrauli	727	97
47	Tikamgarh(Including Niwari)	878	5
48	Ujjain	1095	0
49	Umaria	594	47
50	Vidisha	1536	33

*Districts are as per census 2011.Presently there are 52 district in the state of Madhya Pradesh. However, villages are also as per the census of 2011 and thus includes the census villages of two newly carved out districts.