GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2582 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.08.2021

CCTV FROM NIRBHAYA FUND

2582. SHRI DAYANIDHI MARAN:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of funds allocated towards ensuring safety of women at railway stations from the Nirbhaya fund since its inception and utilisation, item/state-wise;
- (b) whether the funds allocated to set up CCTV cameras at Railway Stations have been utilised and completed and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the details of the stations in Tamil Nadu that have been upgraded and are under consideration for implementation of CCTV surveillance facilities;
- (d) whether any investigation has been initiated by the Central Vigilance Commission or any other body regarding irregularities in the tendering process for the CCTV project at railway stations under Nirbhaya Fund and if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the details of new proposals and projects being considered under the Nirbhaya fund?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, COMMUNICATIONS AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

(SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) & (b) The project Integrated Emergency Response Management System at 983 AI, A, B & C category stations has been approved under Nirbhaya Funds.

In the project, total funds of ₹500 crore has been allocated and ₹295 crore has been released. Out of released funds, ₹95 crore has been

utilized and ₹200 crore released during the current financial year will be utilized as per the contractual obligations.

(c) In Tamil Nadu, total 111 stations are to be provided with CCTV Surveillance under Nirbhaya Fund. So far, CCTV system is provided at 23 stations.

List of these 111 stations is appended.

(d) Yes, Sir. Based on a complaint forwarded by Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) to RailTel Vigilance, Public Sector Undertaking under Ministry of Railways, an investigation was initiated in the Video Surveillance System (VSS) floated by RailTel in November 2016. This included total 04 tenders region-wise pertaining to CCTV based video surveillance work covering stations of Indian Railways under the Nirbhaya Fund.

The investigation report was submitted to CVC duly highlighting certain procedural lapses. After due examination of the report, CVC advised regular departmental action for Minor penalty against 4 officers of RailTel, same have since been imposed on all concerned officers following due procedure. In addition, systemic improvements recommended by CVC have been implemented by RailTel.

(e) No new proposal is under consideration.

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2582 BY SHRI DAYANIDHI MARAN TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 04.08.2021 REGARDING CCTV FROM NIRBHAYA FUND.

(c) List of stations of Tamil Nadu for implementation of CCTV Surveillance facilities under Nirbhaya Fund:

S.No.	Station	S.No.	Station	S.No.	Station
1	Ambattur	38	Korukkupet	75	Royapuram (halt)
2	Ambur	39	Kotturpuram (flag)	76	Saidapet
3	Annanur (halt)	40	Kovilpatti	77	Salem jn
4	Anuppampattu (flag)	41	Kulitturai	78	Sattur
5	Arakkonam jn	42	Kumbakonam	79	Sengottai
6	Ariyalur	43	Light house (flag)	80	Senjipanampakkam (halt)
7	Atthipattu(flag)	44	Manavur (flag)	81	Sevvapet road
8	Attipattupudunagar (halt)	45	Mandaiveli(flag)	82	St.thomasmount
9	Avadi	46	Mayiladuthurai jn.	83	Tambaram sanatorium (flag)
10	Chengalpattu jn.	47	Meenambakkam	84	Taramani
11	Chennai chetpet(flag)	48	Melmaruvathur	85	Tenkasi jn
12	Chennai fort(flag)	49	Mettupalaiyam	86	Thanjavur jn
13	Chennai park	50	Minjur	87	Thirumullaivoil (halt)
14	Chepauk	51	Moore market complex	88	Thirunintravur
15	Chintaripet	52	Mosur(halt)	89	Tirumayilai
16	Chrompet(flag)	53	Nagappattinam	90	Tirunelveli jn
17	Dindigul jn	54	Nagercoil jn	91	Tiruppur
18	E-depot	55	Nandiyambakkam(halt)	92	Tirusulam (flag)
19	Egattur(halt)	56	Nemilicherry (halt)	93	Tiruttani
20	Ennore	57	Nungambakkam (flag)	94	Tiruvalangadu
21	Erode jn	58	Pallavaram	95	Tiruvallikeni (flag)
22	Greenways road (flag)	59	Paramakkudi	96	Tiruvallur
23	Guindy	60	Park town(flag)	97	Tiruvanmiyur
24	Gummidipundi	61	Pattabiram military siding (flag)	98	Tiruvottiyur
25	Hindu college(halt)	62	Pattabiram(flag)	99	Tondiarpet (flag)
26	Indiranagar(flag)	63	Pattravakkam (flag)	100	Tuticorin
27	Jolarpettai Jn	64	Pazhavanthangal (flag)	101	Velacheri
28	Kadambattur	65	Perambur	102	Veppambattu(flag)
29	Kanniyakumari	66	Perambur carriage works(flag)	103	Villivakkam
30	Karaikkudi jn	67	Perambur loco works(flag)	104	Villupuram jn.
31	Karur jn.	68	Perungudi	105	Virudhunagar jn
32	Kasturibanagar(flag)	69	Ponneri	106	Voc nagar(halt)
33	Kathivakkam(flag)	70	Puliamanagalam (halt)	107	Vriddhachalam jn.
34	Katpadi	71	Putlur(halt)	108	Vyasarpadi jeeva(flag)
35	Kavaripettai	72	Rajapalaiyam	109	Washermanpet
36	Kodambakkam	73	Ramanathapuram	110	Wimco nagar(flag)
37	Korattur(flag)	74	Rameswaram	111	Hosur
