GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FINANCE

DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2243 TO BE ANSWERED ON MONDAY 02nd AUGUST, 2021 [11 SRAVANA, 1943 (SAKA)]

'Interest Free Loan for NER'

No. 2243. Shri Vincent H. Pala:

Will the Minister of Finance be pleased to state:

- (a) the amount accumulated out of 10 percent of the Gross Budget support from fifty five Ministries/Departments non exempted for the North Eastern Region (NER) lying with the Ministry at present;
- (b) the amount of interest free loan granted, sanctioned and released to the NER States during the last five years, State/Year-wise; and
- (c) the steps taken to clear all the back-logs of NLCPR Fund lying with the Union Government to release to the NER States?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRI PANKAJ CHAUDHARY)

- (a) Amount out of 10 percent of the Gross Budget support from fifty five Ministries/Departments non exempted, supposed to earmark for the North Eastern Region (NER) neither accumulate nor lies with any Ministry/ Department. This is because Non-lapsable Central Pool of Resources (NLCPR) is a notional fund with a provisional amount of ₹ 90425.49 crore till 31.03.2020 maintained on a proforma basis.
- (b) The 'Special Assistance to States for Capital Expenditure for 2020-21' scheme was launched on 12.10.2020. Under this scheme special assistance amounting to ₹2100.13 crore, as per Annex A, was provided to the North Eastern States in the form of 50-year interest free loan in the year 2020-21.
- (c) Government of India operate Central Sector Umbrella Scheme, "Central Pool of Resources for North East and Sikkim" under the Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region and is meant for flow of budgetary finances for specific viable infrastructure project in NER, in addition to the projects undertaken by other Central Ministries/ Departments through 10% mandatory earmarking.

<u>Annex- A</u>

(₹ Crore)

S. No.	State	Amount Released
1	Arunachal Pradesh	232.97
2	Assam	450.00
3	Manipur	317.16
4	Meghalaya	200.00
5	Mizoram	200.00
6	Nagaland	200.00
7	Sikkim	200.00
8	Tripura	300.00
	Total	2100.13