# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA

### UNSTARRED OUESTION NO-1680

ANSWERED ON-29/07/2021

#### AKSHAY URJA SHOPS

1680. SHRI RAMESH CHANDER KAUSHIK SHRI JANARDAN SINGH SIGRIWAL SHRIMATI QUEEN OJA

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to set up 'Akshay Urja Shops' across the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof indicating the number of 'Akshay Urja Shops' across the country so far, State/ UT-wise including Haryana, Bihar and Assam; and
- (c) the steps taken by the Government to expand network of 'Akshay Urja Shops' by encouraging private entrepreneurs and Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) to set up and operate such shops in all the districts of the country?

#### **ANSWER**

#### THE MINISTER OF NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER

#### (SHRI R.K. SINGH)

(a) to (c)Currently, Government is not running any scheme to set up Akshay Urja Shops in the country. However, the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) was earlier promoting establishment of Akshay Urja Shops in major cities of the country with a view to cover sales and services of all renewable energy devices and systems in all districts of the country. The implementation of the scheme was reviewed by the Ministry and it was decided to discontinue the scheme beyond 12<sup>th</sup> Plan period. Before, discontinuation of the Scheme, total 412 Akshay Urja Shops were sanctioned by MNRE. State/UT wise numbers of Akshay Urja Shops sanctioned by the Ministry, including the States of Haryana, Bihar and Assam are given in the **Annexure**.

\*\*\*\*

#### **ANNEXURE**

## ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1680 FOR 29.07.2021

State/UT wise Akshav Urja Shops

S.NO	States / UTs	No. of Districts where Akshay
		Urja Shops has been sanctioned
1	Andemon & Nicober Islands	2
	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	
2	Andhra Pradesh including Telangana	21
3	Arunachal Pradesh	-
4	Assam	8
5	Bihar	33
6	Chandigarh	1
7	Chhattisgarh	13
8	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	-
9	Daman & Diu	-
10	Delhi	-
11	Goa	2
12	Gujarat	8
13	Haryana	18
14	Himachal Pradesh	5
15	Jharkhand	24
16	Jammu & Kashmir	10
17	Karnataka	7
18	Kerala	7
19	Lakshadweep	-
20	Madhya Pradesh	50
21	Maharashtra	32
22	Manipur	2
23	Meghalaya	_
24	Mizoram	7
25	Nagaland	5
26	Odisha	4
27	Puducherry	4
28	Punjab	20
29	Rajasthan	14
30	Sikkim	14
31	Tamil Nadu	26
32	Tripura	2
33	Uttar Pradesh	72
34	Uttarakhand	8
35	West Bengal	6
	Total	412