GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF YOUTH AFFAIRS & SPORTS (DEPARTMENT OF SPORTS)

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †1660 ANSWERED ON 29.07.2021

Establishment of Sports Academies

†1660. SHRI RAJESH VERMA:

Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

(a) the details of sports academies established by the Government, Statewise;

(b) whether the Government purposes to establish new sports academy in Uttar Pradesh;

- (c) if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF YOUTH AFFAIRS & SPORTS { SHRI ANURAG SINGH THAKUR }

(a) Under the "Support to National/Regional/State Sports Academies" vertical of the Khelo India Scheme, sports academies are accreditated for the training of the Khelo India Athletes. A total of 236 academies have been accredited in the country so far. State/UT-wise list of number of academies supported under the Khelo India Scheme is at Annexure.

(b) to (d) Accreditation of academies is an ongoing process and sports academies are accreditated upon receiving expressions of interest from the State/Union Territory governments after following the due process under the Khelo India Scheme. 09 sports academies have so far been accreditated in the State of Uttar Pradesh.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †1660 ANSWERED ON 29.07.2021 REGARDING "ESTABLISHMENT OF SPORTS ACADEMIES" ASKED BY SHRI RAJESH VERMA, HON'BLE MEMBER OF LOK SABHA

State/UT-wise list of academies supported under the Khelo India Scheme

S. No.	State/Union Territory	Academies supported
1.	Andhra Pradesh	0
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	3
3.	Assam	7
4.	Bihar	0
5.	Chhattisgarh	1
6.	Goa	1
7.	Gujarat	11
8.	Haryana	12
9.	Himachal Pradesh	6
10.	Jharkhand	10
11.	Karnataka	28
12.	Kerala	11
13.	Madhya Pradesh	16
14.	Maharashtra	26
15.	Manipur	10
16.	Meghalaya	0
17.	Mizoram	0
18.	Nagaland	0
19.	Odisha	8
20.	Punjab	25
21.	Rajasthan	4
22.	Sikkim	0
23.	Tamil Nadu	16
24.	Telangana	10
25.	Tripura	0
26.	Uttar Pradesh	9
27.	Uttarakhand	0
28.	West Bengal	8
29.	Andaman and Nicobar Islands	0
30.	Chandigarh	4
31.	Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli	0
32.	Delhi	9
33.	Jammu & Kashmir	1
34.	Ladakh	0
35.	Lakshadweep	0
36.	Puducherry	0
	Total	236