GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1280

ANSWERED ON 27/07/2021

GRAM PANCHAYATS UNDER SAGY

1280. SHRI SAPTAGIRI SANKAR ULAKA:

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of Gram Panchayats that have been nominated under Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAGY) since 2019 in Odisha, Member of Parliament (MP)-wise;
- (b) the total number of such panchayats which have achieved the intended development targets in the State of Odisha, MP-wise;
- (c) the number of SAGY panchayats that do not have Village Development Plans prepared since nomination in Odisha, MP-wise; and
- (d) the contribution of the State towards achieving the desired development targets for Gram Panchayats under SAGY in Odisha MP-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SADHVI NIRANJAN JYOTI)

(a) to (c): The Hon'ble Members of Parliament from Odisha have identified 22 Gram Panchayats under Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAGY) since 2019. The total number of Gram Panchayats that have been nominated under SAGY since 2019 in Odisha, Member of Parliament-wise, is given in Annexure-I.

The Gram Panchayats, adopted under SAGY, prepare Village Development Plans (VDP) through a participatory process under the guidance of Hon'ble Members of Parliament. The VDP includes prioritised time-bound activities to achieve holistic progress of the village. So far three Gram Panchayats out of the 22 GPs mentioned above have uploaded their VDP containing 136 projects, as per the data available on SAGY website (http://saanjhi.gov.in). Out of these, 23 projects have been completed as on 21st July, 2021. None of these GPs mentioned above have substantially executed their VDPs.

(d): The financing of the projects taken up in the Village Development Plan prepared for SAGY GPs is done through convergence of Central and State schemes, Gram Panchayat own revenue, resources that can be mobilised locally in cash, kind and labour, and resources from private, voluntary and cooperative sectors such as CSR funds and this is facilitated by the State Government.

The District Collector is the nodal officer for implementing SAGY. The District Collector conducts monthly review meetings under the leadership of Members of Parliament concerned with the representatives of line departments to facilitate convergence of schemes in the SAGY GP. The Charge officer for each SAGY GP is appointed by the District Collector for coordinating the implementation of SAGY at the local level and assisting the District Collector

for the implementation of projects taken up in the Village Development Plans in SAGY Gram Panchayats. 21 such Charge Officers have been appointed in Odisha.

A baseline survey is conducted by the State Government in the nominated SAGY GPs to identify the gaps in infrastructure, amenities and services and prepare a plan for future economic and human development. This Village Development Plan is approved by the District level committee headed by the District Collector, in the presence of the Member of Parliament. The monitoring of the implementation of the VDP is done by the State Government through regular reviews in SLEC and at the district level by the District Collector.

The implementation of SAGY is overseen by the State Government. The Government of Odisha has constituted the State Level Empowered Committees (SLEC) headed by Chief Secretary to ensure seamless convergence of schemes among different Government Departments as per the priority set in the Village Development Plans of respective SAGY GPs.

Annexure-I referred in point (a) of reply to Lok Sabha unstarred question No. 1280 scheduled for answer on 27 July 2021

The total number of Gram Panchayats that have been nominated under SAGY since 2019 in Odisha, Member of Parliament-wise as per information available on SAGY website (http://saanjhi.gov.in) as on 21 July 2021.

S. No.	Name of Hon'ble MP	District	Name of the GP identified under SAGY
		1	Dr. Amar Patnaik
2	Sundargarh	Hurmei	
3	Sundargarh	Bamdera	
4	Sundargarh	Lahandabud	
5	Sundargarh	Jareikela	
6	Ms. Chandrani Murmu	Kendujhar	Baradapal
7	Shri Achyutananda Samanta	Nayagarh	Rasanga
8	-Shri Basanta Kumar Panda	Kalahandi	Bijamara
9		Nuapada	Tukla
10	Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab	Cuttack	Babujanga
11	Shri Pinaki Misra	Puri	Bidyadharapur
12	Shri Ramesh Chandra Majhi	Nabarangpur	Jharigam
13	Shri Saptagiri Sankar Ulaka	Koraput	Garidi
14	-Shri Sujeet Kumar	Kalahandi	Sagada
15		Kalahandi	Bhatangpadar
16	Smt. Aparajita Sarangi	Khordha	Badapari
17	-Smt. Manju Lata Mandal	Bhadrak	Napanga
18		Bhadrak	Andola
19		Bhadrak	Dosinga
20		Bhadrak	Amboroli
21	Smt. Rajashree Mallick	Jagatsinghapur	Arana
22	Smt. Sarmistha Sethi	Jajapur	Beruda