## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD & PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION DEPARTMENT OF FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION

### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1159 TO BE ANSWERED ON 27<sup>TH</sup> JULY, 2021

### GAP BETWEEN CONSUMPTION AND PRODUCTION OF EDIBLE OIL

1159. SHRI JASWANT SINGH BHABHOR:
SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH:
SHRI SUDHAKAR TUKARAM SHRANGARE:
SHRI PRADEEP KUMAR SINGH:

Will the Minister of CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION उपभोक्ता मामले, खाद्य और सार्वजनिक वितरण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has formulated any plan to bridge the gap between domestic consumption and domestic production of edible oils;
- (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the corrective measures taken by the Government to make the country Atmanirbhar in Edible oils, State-wise particularly in the State of Gujarat?

#### ANSWER

# MINISTER OF STATE FOR MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FOOD & PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION (SADHVI NIRANJAN JYOTI)

(a) & (b): The domestic edible oil production in the country has not been able to keep pace with the growth in consumption which is around 25 million tonnes. The Government of India has been implementing the Centrally Sponsored Scheme- National Food security Mission (Oilseeds and Oil palm) to augment the availability of edible oils and to reduce the import of edible oils by increasing the production and productivity of oilseeds sources from nine Oilseeds (Groundnut, Soyabean, Rapeseed & Mustard, Sunflower, Safflower, Sesame, Niger, Linseed and Castor), Oil Palm and Tree Borne Oilseeds (TBOs) in the country.

(c): To make the country Atmanirbhar in edible oils, Government of India is implementing a Centrally Sponsored Scheme i.e. National Food Security Mission (Oilseeds & Oil palm) to increase the production of oilseeds and thereby edible oils. The States/UTs covered under NFSM-Oilseeds are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Goa, Kerala, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh and Puducherry.

The States covered under NFSM-Oil Palm are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Karnataka, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Tamil Nadu and Telangana.

The States covered under NFSM-TBOs are Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Tripura and Uttar Pradesh.