## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1123 ANSWERED ON 26.07.2021

### **DEVELOPMENT OF THEME BASED CIRCUIT IN ODISHA**

### **1123. SHRI ANUBHAV MOHANTY:**

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has had any proposal to develop theme-based circuits under the Swadesh Darshan scheme in the State of Odisha, more specifically eco-tourism circuits, during the last two years;
- (b) if so, the status of that proposal;
- (c) whether the Government is serious about taking up ecotourism circuits;
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the time by which these tourism circuits are likely to be taken up for approval?

### ANSWER

#### MINISTER OF TOURISM

### (SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

(a) to (e): Development of tourism is primarily the responsibility of the concerned State Government/UT Administration. However, for integrated development of Theme-Based Tourist Circuits in the country including Odisha, Ministry of Tourism, Government of India has launched the Swadesh Darshan Scheme in 2014-15. Under the scheme fifteen thematic circuits have been identified for development including Eco-Tourism Circuit. The sanctioning of new projects under the scheme is a continuous process. Projects for development under the scheme are identified in consultations with the State Governments/UT Administrations and are sanctioned subject to availability of funds, submission of suitable detailed project reports, adherence to scheme guidelines and utilization of funds released earlier. Ministry of Tourism has sanctioned a project Development of Gopalpur, Barkul, Satapada and Tampara under Coastal Circuit theme of Swadesh Darshan Scheme for Rs.70.82 crore in 2016 in the state of Odisha.

A list of Projects sanctioned under Eco-Tourism Circuit of Swadesh Darshan Scheme in the country is as detailed below.

S. No.	Name of State	Year	Project Name
1.	Uttarakhand	(2015-16)	Development of Circuit at Tehri- Chamba- Sarain around Tehri Lake.
2.	Telangana	(2015-16)	Development of Circuit in Mahaboobnagar districts (Somasila, Singotam, Kadalaivanam, Akkamahadevi, Egalanpanta, Farahabad, Uma Maheshwaram, Mallelatheertham)
3.	Kerala	(2015-16)	Development of Pathanamthitta- Gavi- Vagamon- Thekkady.
4.	Mizoram	(2016-17)	Development of Eco-Adventure Circuit at Aizawl -Rawpuichhip - Khawhphawp - Lengpui – Durtlang -Chatlang- Sakawrhmuituaitlang - Muthee – Beratlawng -Tuirial Airfield – Hmuifang
5.	Madhya Pradesh	(2017-18)	Development of Gandhisagar Dam- Mandleshwar Dam- Omkareshwar Dam- Indira Sagar Dam- Tawa Dam- Bargi Dam- Bheda Ghat- Bansagar Dam- Ken River
6.	Jharkhand	(2018-19)	Development of Dalma- Chandil- Getalsud- Betla National park- Mirchaiya- Netarhat