## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA (MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS) LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.†\*9 TO BE ANSWERED ON 19.07.2021

#### EKLAVYA MODEL RESIDENTIAL SCHOOLS

### †\* 9. SHRIMATI JASKAUR MEENA:

Will the Minister of TRIBAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the scheme of setting up Eklavya Model Residential Schools across the country including the present status thereof;
- (b) whether the Government has identified locations in Rajasthan in this regard;
- (c) if so, the details thereof including the details in respect of Dausa district;
- (d) whether the Government has sanctioned any funds for the Government of Rajasthan in this regard;
- (e) if so, the details thereof; and
- (f) the time by which the said schools are likely to be set up?

#### **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS (SHRI ARJUN MUNDA)

a. to f. A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

# STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. †\*9 FOR 19.07.2021 RAISED BY SHRIMATI JASKAUR MEENA REGARDING "EKLAVYA MODEL RESIDENTIAL SCHOOLS".

a. The concept of Eklavya Model Residential Schools (EMRSs) was introduced in the year 1997-98 to provide quality education to Scheduled Tribes (ST) students in remote areas in their own environment. These schools were funded under Article 275 (1) of the Constitution, where grants are given to states. Each school has a capacity to enroll up to 480 students from Class 6<sup>th</sup> to 12<sup>th</sup>, out of which 50% would be girls. 288 schools were sanctioned across country between 1998 and 2018.

In order to give focused attention, a separate Central Sector scheme of EMRS was carved out to improve the geographical outreach of such schools to every block with more than 50% ST population and at least 20,000 tribal persons. 452 such blocks have been identified for establishment of EMRS schools under the revamped scheme. On qualitative aspect, the schools are envisaged to be brought at par with Navodaya Vidyalayas and to have special facilities for preserving local art and culture besides providing training in sports and skill development. A National Education Society for Tribal Students (NESTS) as an autonomous body under the Ministry has been setup to provide overall support and policy directions to the schools in order to bring uniformity in the administration of the schools. The State/UT EMRS Societies at the State/UT level have been set up for day-to-day management of the schools.

There are 367 functional EMRSs across the country with around 85232 students currently enrolled.

- b. and c.: A total of 30 EMRSs have already been sanctioned for the state of Rajasthan out of which 21 EMRSs are reported to be functional. One more EMRS for the state is to be set up during the current financial year after identification of land by the State Government. No EMRS location has been identified in Dausa district as per existing criteria of the scheme. The details of identified locations and EMRS sanctioned by the Ministry is at **Annexure-I.** 
  - d.& e.: During the year 2020-21, Rs. 8900 lakh was released towards construction grant and Rs. 4044.17 lakh towards recurring grants.
- f. Out of 30 schools so far sanctioned for the state of Rajasthan, construction of 17 schools is complete and construction work of remaining 13 schools is under progress. Construction agencies have been allowed time of 18 months to complete the project which also includes preconstruction activities.

Annexure-I as referred to in part (b) and (c) of Lok Sabha Starred Qs No. †\*9 for 19.07.2021 raised by Shrimati Jaskaur Meena regarding "Eklavya Model Residential Schools"- reg.

## EMRSs sanctioned by Ministry of Tribal Affairs for the State of Rajasthan till date:

S. No.	District	Block/ Taluka	Year of sanction
1	Banswara	Kushalgarh	1997-98
2	Baran	Shahbad	1997-98
3	Sirohi	Abu Road	1997-98
4	Udaipur	Kotra	1997-98
5	Dungarpur	Simalwara	1998-99
6	Tonk	Newai	1999-00
7	Udaipur	Rishabhdeo	1999-00
8	Pratapgarh	Pratapgarh	2007-08
9	Alwar	Rajgarh	2010-11
10	Banswara	Anandpuri	2010-11
11	Dungarpur	Sabla	2010-11
12	Jaipur	Bassi	2010-11
13	Karauli	Todabhim	2010-11
14	Sawai Madhopur	Bamanwas	2010-11
15	Alwar	Reni	2011-12
16	Banswara	Anandpuri	2013-14
17	Udaipur	Gogunda	2013-14
18	Jaipur	Jamwa Ramgarh	2016-17
19	Banswara	Aabapura	2018-19
20	Pratapgarh	Peepalkhoont (EMDBS)	2018-19
21	Dungarpur	Dungarpur	2019-20
22	Udaipur	Sarada	2019-20
23	Banswara	Garhi	2020-21
24	Banswara	Bagidora	2020-21
25	Dungarpur	Sagwara	2020-21
26	Pratapgarh	Dhariawad	2020-21
27	Pratapgarh	Arnod	2020-21
28	Udaipur	Jhadol	2020-21
29	Udaipur	Lasadiya	2020-21
30	Udaipur	Salumbar	2020-21
31	Udaipur	Kherwara	To be Sanctioned