GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No.4681 TO BE ANSWERED ON 24.03.2021

AVERAGE PASSORT APPLICATION

4681. SHRI HARISH DWIVEDI:

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of passport offices in the country at present, State-wise;
- (b) the average number of applications on which action is taken by these offices in a month; and
- (c) the details of time limit prescribed to issue passports?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

[SHRI V. MURALEEDHARAN]

(a) At present, there are 36 Passport Offices in the country. The Statewise list of Passport Offices is placed at Annexure-I.

(b) On an average 6.40 lakh passport applications are received by the 36 Passport Offices, while around 6.20 lakh passports are issued by them in a month.

(c) The Ministry has prescribed the indicative timeline for issuance of passport in its Citizen Charter 2020 as follows:

(i) Issue of Ordinary Passport:

(a) For fresh issuance, upto 30 working days [Police Verification (PV) period excluded].

(b) For Re-issue, upto 7 working days in cases where pre-police verification is not required and upto 30 working days in cases where PV is required (PV period excluded).

(c) For Tatkal, upto 3 working days subject to the condition that the applicant is eligible for issue of passport under Tatkal scheme.

(ii) Issue of Diplomatic Passport and Official Passport: Individual applications are processed and passport issued within 7 working days.

List of State wise Passport Offices in India (Annexure-I)

S.No.	State	S. No.	Passport Office
1	Andhra Pradesh	1	Vijayawada
		2	Visakhapatnam
2	Assam	3	Guwahati. It also function as Passport Office for the State of Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Nagaland
3	Bihar	4	Patna
4	Chhattisgarh	5	Raipur
5	Delhi	6	Delhi
6	Goa	7	Panaji
7	Gujarat	8	Ahmedabad
		9	Surat
8	Haryana	10	Chandigarh
9	Himachal Pradesh	11	Shimla
10	Jammu & Kashmir (Now UT)	12	Jammu
		13	Srinagar
11	Jharkhand	14	Ranchi
12	Karnataka	15	Bengaluru
13	Kerala	16	Cochin
		17	Kozhikode
		18	Thiruvananthapuram
14	Madhya Pradesh	19	Bhopal
15	Maharashtra	20	Mumbai
		21	Nagpur
		22	Pune
16	Odisha	23	Bhubaneswar
17	Punjab	24	Amritsar
		25	Jalandhar
18	Rajasthan	26	Jaipur
19	Tamil Nadu	27	Chennai
		28	Coimbatore
		29	Madurai
		30	Tiruchirappalli
20	Telangana	31	Hyderabad
21	Uttar Pradesh	32	Bareilly
		33	Ghaziabad
		34	Lucknow
22	Uttarakhand	35	Dehradun
23	West Bengal	36	Kolkata. It also function as Passport Office for Tripura