GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4139 TO BE ANSWERED ON 19.03.2021

Stone Crusher Plants in North-Eastern States

4139. SHRI NABA KUMAR SARANIA:

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of Stone Crusher mills/plants in North-eastern States, plant-wise;
- (b) the number of Stone Crusher mills set up in various districts of Assam, including the Bodoland Territory, district-wise and plant-wise; and
- (c) whether the stone Crusher mills have been permitted to dig the area along rivers and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE (SHRI BABUL SUPRIYO)

(a) to (c) More than 800 Stone Crushing mills are established in North-eastern states. Details of Stone Crusher in North-eastern States are being obtained.

List of Stone Crushing mills established in various districts of Assam is at Annexure.

Stand-alone stone crushers are established for sizing of stones, therefore no digging is required. No Environment Clearance is to be obtained for establishing stand-alone stone crushers. However, permission needs to be obtained as per Stone Crushing policy from State Pollution Control Boards (SPCBs)/ Pollution Control Committees (PCCs).

Wherever Stone Crushers are established along with mining activity Environment Clearance is required to be obtained for the mining activity and Consent to Establish / Consent to Operate are required to be taken from concern SPCBs/ PCCs under the Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1974. No mining activity is permitted within 500 meters along the river.

ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4139 DUE FOR ANSWER ON 19.03.2021 REGARDING "STONE CRUSHER PLANTS IN NORTH-EASTERN STATES" RAISED BY SHRI NABA KUMAR SARANIA

District-wise distribution of Stone Crushers in Assam

S. No.	District	Number	of	Stone
		Crusher		
1.	Kamrup Metro			19
2.	Kamrup Rural			58
2. 3. 4. 5.	Barpeta			13
4.	Dhubri			26
	Goalpara			33
6.	Kokrajhar			14
7.	Darrang			10
8.	Udalguri			40
9.	Lakhimpur			17
10.	Nagaon			41
11.	Morigaon			25
12.	Hojai			22
13.	Karbi Anglong			12
14.	Jorhat			72
15.	Sivasagar			85
16.	Charaideo			13
17.	Sonitpur			57
18.	Biswanath			6
19.	Dibrugarh			65
20.	Tinsukia			48
21.	Dhemaji			2
22.	Cachar			44
23.	Hailakandi			6
24.	Karimganj			17
25.	Dima Hasao			7
26.	Golaghat			21
	Total			777