GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3382

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 16TH MARCH, 2021/ PHALGUNA 25, 1942 (SAKA)

NAXAL AFFECTED DISTRICTS IN JHARKHAND

3382. SHRI CHANDRA PRAKASH CHOUDHARY:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether four districts in Jharkhand including Bokaro, Dhanbad, Giridih and Ramgarh have been identified as naxal-affected districts;
- (b) if so, whether the Government has provided financial assistance to the above districts to identify and fill critical gaps in infrastructure and services between 2018-19, 2019-20 and 2020-21;
- (c) if so, the details of financial and other assistance provided to the districts in Jharkhand during the above period;
- (d) the details of physical targets set and achieved in the said districts during the above period; and
- (e) whether the Government has any plans to extend this scheme beyond 2020-21 and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

- (a): Yes Sir, Bokaro, Dhanbad, Giridih and Ramgarh districts of Jharkhand are covered under Security Related Expenditure (SRE) Scheme and are considered as Left Wing Extremism (LWE) affected districts.
- (b): For filling the critical gaps of Public Infrastructure and Services in the worst LWE affected districts, funds are released to States under 'Special Central Assistance (SCA) for the most LWE Affected Districts'. Bokaro and Giridih districts are included under SCA Scheme.

(c): Funds released to Jharkhand under SCA Scheme are as under:

(Rs. in crore)

State	2018-19	2019-20	2020-21
Jharkhand	433.33	433.29	199

(d): During 2018-19 and 2019-20, 194 works have been undertaken for Bokaro, of which 117 have been completed. For Giridih 490 works have been undertaken, of which 278 have been completed. For 2020-21, Rs.199 crores have been transferred to the State in the month of November-2020, which are yet to be transferred to the districts by the State.

(e): The Scheme was approved for a period of 03 years from 2017-18 to 2019-20. The scheme has already been extended for one year 2020-21.
