GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FOOD PROCESSING INDUSTRIES LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3260 ANSWERED ON 16TH MARCH, 2021

AGRO PROCESSING CLUSTERS

3260. SHRI LALLU SINGH:

Will the Minister of FOOD PROCESSING INDUSTRIES be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has approved a number of projects to create infrastructure for agro-processing cluster (APC) under Pradhan Mantri Kisan Kalyan Yojana;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) the steps taken by the Government to reduce wastage of surplus produce and add value to the horticulture/agricultural produce?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR FOOD PROCESSING INDUSTRIES (SHRI RAMESWAR TELI)

(a) to (c): Ministry of Food Processing Industries (MoFPI) has not approved any project under Pradhan Mantri Kisan Kalyan yojana. However, MoFPI has been implementing the Scheme for Creation of Infrastructure for Agro Processing Clusters (APC) under the Umbrella Scheme Pradhan Mantri Kisan Sampada Yojana (PMKSY) to incentivize setting up of agro processing clusters in the country. Till date, Ministry has approved 56 agro processing cluster projects under the scheme. The State/UT wise number of projects approved under the scheme are at **Table A.**

Further, MoFPI has been implementing various schemes namely Mega Food Parks, Integrated Cold Chain and Value Addition Infrastructure, Creation/ Expansion of Food Processing/ Preservation Capacities (Unit Scheme), Infrastructure for Agro-processing Clusters, Creation of Backward and Forward Linkages, Operation Greens under Pradhan Mantri Kisan Sampada Yojana (PMKSY) to reduce wastage of surplus produce and add value to the horticultural / agriculture produce.

Sl. No.	State/ UTs	No. of Projects approved
1	Andhra Pradesh	2
2	Assam	3
3	Bihar	1
4	Chhattisgarh	2
5	Goa	0
6	Gujarat	5
7	Haryana	2
8	Himachal Pradesh	1
9	Jammu & Kashmir	1
10	Jharkhand	0
11	Karnataka	4
12	Kerala	2
13	Madhya Pradesh	4
14	Maharashtra	9
15	Orissa	0
16	Punjab	3
17	Rajasthan	0
18	Tamil Nadu	10
19	Telangana	1
20	Uttar Pradesh	3
21	Uttarakhand	1
22	West Bengal	0
23	Arunachal Pradesh	0
24	Manipur	0
25	Meghalaya	1
26	Mizoram	0
27	Nagaland	0
28	Tripura	0
29	Sikkim	0
30	A & N Islands	0
31	Chandigarh	0
32	D & N Haveli & Daman & Diu	1
33	Delhi	0
34	Lakshadweep	0
35	Pondicherry	0
36	Ladakh	0
	Total	56
